RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/rc-radios-transmitters-receivers-servos-gyros-157/)
-   -   which servo tester to get...... (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/rc-radios-transmitters-receivers-servos-gyros-157/11130463-servo-tester-get.html)

countilaw 06-24-2012 07:02 PM

which servo tester to get......

I am thinking about getting a servo tester. I've never used one before, really never thought I needed one and still don't. I've always just plugged my servos into the receiver and adjusted with the transmitter. But, I was thinking about getting one and have found many different types available.

Most of my servos are Hitec 425BB, Jr sport, futaba 3003, and a few micro. All are analog.

What are some of the advantages of having a tester?

Frank

BuschBarber 06-25-2012 04:04 AM

RE: which servo tester to get......

ORIGINAL: countilaw

I am thinking about getting a servo tester. I've never used one before, really never thought I needed one and still don't. I've always just plugged my servos into the receiver and adjusted with the transmitter. But, I was thinking about getting one and have found many different types available.

Most of my servos are Hitec 425BB, Jr sport, futaba 3003, and a few micro. All are analog.

Frank

I bought a Turnigy Servo Tester from Hobby King. It has 3 modes that you change by pressing a Button:

Manual (via a knob)
Auto Exercize
Neutral

The Neutral is nice because you can connect up to 3 servos, set the Tester to Neutral, and all the servos go to Neutral. You can then center the Servo Arms and then install in the aircraft. It requires a 4.8v or 6v battery. You can also connect an ESC to it just to test it's operation.

countilaw 06-25-2012 05:35 AM