RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/rc-radios-transmitters-receivers-servos-gyros-157/)
-   -   Hitec Eclipse 7 change mode 1 to mode 2 (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/rc-radios-transmitters-receivers-servos-gyros-157/11222095-hitec-eclipse-7-change-mode-1-mode-2-a.html)

waynex 09-08-2012 02:59 PM

Hitec Eclipse 7 change mode 1 to mode 2

Hi there. My first post to RC Universe!

I didn't have the money to go 2.4GHz, nor did I want to, so I bought an Eclipse 7 radio second hand thisyearbut it was mode 1 not mode 2. Unlike othercomputer radios, you can't simply re-program the radio,it must be done manually, it seems. There are only two channels that need switching between modes 1 & 2- throttle and elevator. My radio is approx. 2002-2003 vintage.

I have some electronics experience so searched online forums on how to do a conversion. There is some helpful stuff, but nothing on exactly my problem. So, I went ahead anyway & the conversion worked!

So, if you have an old mode 1 Eclipse 7 and want to change to mode 2 (as well as having trims that work in sync with the sticks), here's how:

There are 3 stages to the process</p>
  1. Remove the rear of the radio &amp; lengthen the elevator and throttle cables so that they are long enough to switch left-right (some folk call these cables 'jumpers')
  2. Switch the ratchet mechanism for the throttle from one side to the other (a bit fiddly!)
  3. re-wire the trims to match
Have a look at the following Google doc link for pics &amp; some more explanation: https://docs.google.com/open?id=0B_V...Hd2Q3hjc3hOQ0k

I hope that this is useful for someone who, like me, wants to stick with an old Tx!
-WayneX<br type="_moz" />

A.T. 09-09-2012 01:15 PM

RE: Hitec Eclipse 7 change mode 1 to mode 2

ORIGINAL: waynex <span style="font-size: smaller">Hi there. My first post to RC Universe!