RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/rc-radios-transmitters-receivers-servos-gyros-157/)
-   -   Difference between FM and PCM (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/rc-radios-transmitters-receivers-servos-gyros-157/2444770-difference-between-fm-pcm.html)

gowens 12-18-2004 09:06 AM

Difference between FM and PCM

I am new to RC and don't know th diference betwen the two systems.
Thanks fore the help

dirtybird 12-18-2004 09:40 AM

RE: Difference between FM and PCM

If you are truly new to RC the biggest difference you will find is the PCM receiver costs twice the FM(PPM) receiver. Is it worth it? In my opinion,no.
Do a search on PCM and you will find many other opinions. The subject has been beat to death.

Rodney 12-18-2004 11:18 AM

PCM is FM, so is most PPM. You will find all the major manufacturers higher end systems are FM whether they are PCM or PPM. There are still a few AM PPM systems available and, many years ago you could also get PCM using AM. To better give you an explanation of the various systems, check out www.torreypinesgulls.org/Radios.htm

gowens 12-18-2004 04:57 PM

Thanks to both dirtybird and Rodney for helping me.

da_man 12-18-2004 08:54 PM

I just want to point out that digital servos for some systems work better for pcm. That is because of the pulse rate. For airplanes I usually have Fm because of the cost and PCM in my helicopters. In the helicopter it does make a difference since it has metal parts which cause interferance with fm.

smokingcrater 12-18-2004 11:00 PM

In the helicopter it does make a difference since it has metal parts which cause interferance with fm.
so you use AM receivers in your heli??? brave soul...

hebertjj 12-19-2004 12:31 AM