RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/rc-radios-transmitters-receivers-servos-gyros-157/)
-   -   Futaba 9Z (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/rc-radios-transmitters-receivers-servos-gyros-157/3584379-futaba-9z.html)

EngineDesigner 11-24-2005 03:58 PM

Futaba 9Z

I was wondering about opinions on the Futaba 9Z. I want to get one for Christmas, but still dont know if I should get that or something else. This would be my first high-end radio, and I am still a very novice pilot, but with big dreams. It is probably too much radio for me, but yet I still get drawn to it everytime I look thru the catalogs. Please post your opinions, thoughts, and experiences with this radio. Thanks in advance.

EngineDesigner

hankpajari 11-24-2005 10:06 PM

RE: Futaba 9Z

I bought mine because I got tired of running into things the transmitter couldn't do. Now I believe that there will never be a case where I cannot do what the model demands.
True the transmitter is expensive but if you take care of it you will probably never have to buy another. Just my 2c.

LSP972 11-25-2005 08:47 AM

Your only concern would be the fact that the 9Z is on the way out. It has been around for almost 13 years.

The big question is "when?" Those who might know aren't talking. There was some unsubstantiated rumor that Futaba has actually stopped producing the radio. But I think it safe to say that the 9Z's days are numbered. The concern here, of course, being "how will I get it fixed when it needs it?" I've been through this with a JR PCM 10 SXII, so it is not idle speculation my part. Some folks say that, even if The Empire's service department has problems repairing a 9Z, Tony Stillman at Radio South has plenty of parts and expertise.