RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/rc-radios-transmitters-receivers-servos-gyros-157/)
-   -   Novice needs help (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/rc-radios-transmitters-receivers-servos-gyros-157/3614616-novice-needs-help.html)

carp00 12-03-2005 06:13 PM

Novice needs help

I have an Midwest Aero-Star .40 with an OS 40 engine installed. I am at the assembly stage where I need to add servos, batteries, and obtain a control unit. I am totally a novice here so I am interested in easy to learn controller units as well as easy to install servos. I also have to put the skin on my plane. Any construction suggestions anyone could provide would be great. Thanks.

mtnmnstr 12-03-2005 06:48 PM

RE: Novice needs help

A couple of things.
Welcome to the sport. It adictive.
Do you have a model airport around you somewhere?
How about a Hobbyshop?
You can build and install everything yourself but when it comes to flying, GET HELP!!!!!

As for a radio, Thats like asking Blonde or Brunette. I like the Hitec Optic 6 with the Synth Mod. and Futaba.

You can ask the boards. Someone around here has to in your neighborhood.

Good Luck And Happy skys.
Gene

Safebet 12-04-2005 12:37 AM

Welcome to aero R/C. Very good advice, mtnmnstr.
Go to your local Hobby Shop and find out where and what time your local club meets. Take your plane and go. Don't be bashful, tell them your new, want to get started. They will help you, I guarntee. Might even get a little flight time on the club trainer. We do it all the time.

You need to join AMA and your local club. Our club requires that you join AMA, first.

AMA provides 2 very important things. 1. Safety Rules which enables all of us to continue to fly, and 2. insurance, in case we do hit someone or something.