RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/rc-radios-transmitters-receivers-servos-gyros-157/)
-   -   Vibration Problems Caused by Gas Power (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/rc-radios-transmitters-receivers-servos-gyros-157/7091036-vibration-problems-caused-gas-power.html)

hopkimf 02-17-2008 05:11 PM

Vibration Problems Caused by Gas Power

I've been reading of vibration induced servo problems in gas powered planes. I have no gas experience yet, but am finishing a number of planes for the season. A Lanier T Craft and a IKON Stinson Reliant, both powered by G-38s. A BUSA Cub and a GP Super Chipmunk, both with G-26s. And an old M-5 Stinson Voyager powered with a G-62. All have resilient engine mounts with the exception of the G-26 Cub. I'm using a mixture of servos, most with plastic gears. A few are metal. Most of these planes will be just cruising around. Should I anticipate problems here? Is the vibration issue likely to cause catastrophic failures in the servos early in the plane's life, or is it one of premature wear?

Another question on resilient mounts. I used the GP Large Engine Mount on all of them. Three different sizes of engine, different operating speeds, masses, etc. The mounts all use the same rubber biscuits with the same stiffness. How do I know whether the soft mounts are better, worse, or the same as hard mounting the engine?

Thanks.

dirtybird 02-17-2008 07:36 PM

RE: Vibration Problems Caused by Gas Power

There are lots and lots of gas airplanes flying around without soft mounts and little servo problems.
If you would like to know if your soft mounts work get an accelerometer and make some measurements. Each case will be different. As a general case soft mounts will be harder on the engine and easier on the aircraft structure.

tkilwein 02-17-2008 08:03 PM