RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/rc-radios-transmitters-receivers-servos-gyros-157/)
-   -   Help On Dean's Antenna (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/rc-radios-transmitters-receivers-servos-gyros-157/74618-help-deans-antenna.html)

windsurfer 03-11-2002 11:45 AM

Help On Dean's Antenna

I build small wwI electric planes. The receiver antenna is way too long for the fuselage and I have to let it hang beyond the fuse. Is "Dean's antenna" being a lot shorter an answer if it is embedded inside the fuselage?
I appreciate any experience in this area.
:confused:

bob_nj 03-11-2002 11:58 AM

HMMMmnnnn

I feel uninformed. Can you explain or show me Deans Antenna :confused:

dant-RCU 03-11-2002 12:43 PM

Deans Antenna

Windsurfer:

I have been using Deans Antenna for the last 6 years or so in applications from electric to 1/4 scale without any problems. I have used both the external "whip" and internal "singer" types. I mount the "stinger" type with a dab of silicone sealer as it remains flexible and allows the antenna to be easily removed if necessary. I also slip a length of fuel tubing over the antenna itself and anchor that with a dab of silicone sealer. You have to be careful so as not to allow the antenna to touch any metal or electrical items.

I cut my standard receiver antenna to 4 inches and attach the Deans.

A number of the local heli guys fly with Deans and have no problems either.

My experience - your mileage may vary.

DT

bkf 03-11-2002 01:04 PM

Help On Dean's Antenna

1 Attachment(s)
Bob this ia a Dean's antenna.

bob_nj 03-11-2002 01:41 PM

Thanks BKF

Is it primarily designed for heli, or does it function just as well in planks also? I understand dants reply, but am just wondering if that is the exception or the norm? Is this similar to the rubber ducky scenario for TX

bkf 03-11-2002 01:45 PM

Help On Dean's Antenna