RCU Forums

RCU Forums (http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros (http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/rc-radios-transmitters-receivers-servos-gyros-157/)
-   -   Turnigy receiver controlled on off switch (http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/rc-radios-transmitters-receivers-servos-gyros-157/9023559-turnigy-receiver-controlled-off-switch.html)

Zafer 08-17-2009 04:31 PM

Turnigy receiver controlled on off switch

Hi,

I have bought a receiver controlled switch to kill the ignition. But I failed to connect it to the system correctly. I am not good at electronics . I am trying to put the switch between ignition battery and on off switch and put the other end to receivers' gear channel. Never works... On hobby city's site they say you need two batteries , some says you need common ground (I dont even happen to know what the common ground is)

Is there anyone who has already set that thing up ? If so please put some photos or diagrams ( for dummies) to help.

Thanks and regards.

Zafer

fizzwater2 08-17-2009 05:07 PM

RE: Turnigy receiver controlled on off switch

go to the hobby king website, open up the product page for the switch

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbycity/s...idproduct=8833

there's a link there for some wiring diagrams

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbycity/s...g/e-switch.jpg

Good luck!

Common ground just means that if you do use two batteries, the ground wires from both have to be tied together.

Also note, in "method 2" in the wiring diagram - if battery 1 is your receiver battery, and you aren't using a speed control with BEC or something, the RX battery goes to your RX as normal, the battery 2 would have the ground (black wire or brown wire (JR)) tied to the black (or brown) of the battery 1, the red wire goes into the switch, out of the switch to whatever it is you're turning on/off.

Zafer 08-18-2009 02:15 PM

Hi,

Yes, I have soldered a wire between the (-) wires of the batteries and the switch is now functional.