Notices
RC On Road Nitro Cars Discuss all aspects of on-road nitro rc cars here

RS4 Evo 3 No rear wheel power??

Old 11-17-2011, 01:44 PM
illestrolla

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RS4 Evo 3 No rear wheel power??

Hey all,

Am a bit new to this forum so Ihope that this was posted in the correct spot (plz forgive me mods)

Irecently picked up an RS3 evo 3+ from a buddy who has gotten outta the nitro and more into the brushless cars.

First let me say, I am fairly new to the RCworld, but have been a mechanic/building full size cars for years, Icannot get over the amount of detail/precision that goes into these things, its everything im used to working with on a daily basis just on a much MUCHsmaller scale

since picking the car up, I have only been able to run2-3 tanks of gas through it and have encountered some small issues along the way.

First issue: car was running great, carbs all dialed in, after some spirited driving, I heard a jump in revs on a full throttle pass (sounded like a slipping clutch)found loose engine screws and the tq from the motor was causing the engine to tweak and not engage the drivetrain fully.

Little bit of loc-tite and a nice snug on the engine mounting screws, gear mesh set, Bingo!cars back to normal

NOW

this brings us to my current issue,

took the car out again last night, made another high speed pass, heard the same "jump" in revs under load, thought the engine had come loose again, checked that, still snug, gear mesh still 100%

placed the car in the air with wheels off the ground and found only the front wheels to be spinning.

the rear diff/axles all seem to be OK , everything turns together w. no binding, HOWEVER i noticed a hole in the plastic center gear box cover (as if something blew a hole through it)