RC On Road Nitro Cars Discuss all aspects of on-road nitro rc cars here

Need Tuning? How to tune ??? And run 30%!

Reply
Old 08-04-2012, 03:38 AM
  #1
racin rebel
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Southern, CA
Posts: 7
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Need Tuning? How to tune ??? And run 30%!

First Seal your engine with High-temp RTV, Seal the carb. neck, and the back plate,this will help hold your tune andseal up any air leaks, all engines will have some leaks.plus it will keep your temps low (170-190 ish)next set your needles to stock settings first for the break in (Rich HSN), break in with 20% fuel, 5-6 tanks., after break in, change the glow plug, use a hot plug, (Thunderbolt #3 works best)and getByron fuel GEN2. Get Byron Race3000, or Pro-driver3000 It's 30%, but don't lean out too much! Always watch for that thin trail of Blue smoke!! at full speed, if there's NO smoke than your too lean, richen the HSN 1/8th turn out. after tuning the HSN(high speed needle), start to tune the LSN, you want your throttle to be quick and instant!, but NO Bogging up to get to full throttle., it should rev up quick.

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Kh17762.jpg
Views:	16
Size:	117.4 KB
ID:	1788912   Click image for larger version

Name:	Av68151.jpg
Views:	15
Size:	129.7 KB
ID:	1788913   Click image for larger version

Name:	Af89271.jpg
Views:	14
Size:	125.4 KB
ID:	1788914   Click image for larger version

Name:	Dx67174.jpg
Views:	13
Size:	96.9 KB
ID:	1788915  
racin rebel is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2012, 01:01 PM
  #2
rx7devil210
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: , TX
Posts: 245
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Need Tuning? How to tune ??? And run 30%!

Can u post some pics on what to seal? I havent sealed mine but ive ran it pretty hard and did the break in. Did i mess up the engine?
rx7devil210 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2012, 04:25 PM
  #3
Anthoop
 
Anthoop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Somerset, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 2,324
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Need Tuning? How to tune ??? And run 30%!


Quote:
ORIGINAL: rx7devil210

Can u post some pics on what to seal? I havent sealed mine but ive ran it pretty hard and did the break in. Did i mess up the engine?
Do you have a problem with the engine? Is it running inconsistantly?
Anthoop is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2012, 12:28 PM
  #4
rx7devil210
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: , TX
Posts: 245
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Need Tuning? How to tune ??? And run 30%!

I think i have an air leak because it idles perfect then jumps up and starts idling high and rolls forward. I figured it might need to be sealed. Hopefully i didnt ruin the engine.
rx7devil210 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2012, 01:04 PM
  #5
Anthoop
 
Anthoop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Somerset, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 2,324
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Need Tuning? How to tune ??? And run 30%!

In general an air leak will cause the idle to be very erractic and the engine will be very difficult to tune.
I will hazard a guess that this is a tuning issue.
If the crankcase loads up with fuel it will cause a low idle speed...once this fuel is burnt the idle speed will increase.
Anthoop is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2012, 05:50 PM
  #6
rx7devil210
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: , TX
Posts: 245
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Need Tuning? How to tune ??? And run 30%!

so what should i do?
rx7devil210 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2012, 01:19 PM
  #7
Anthoop
 
Anthoop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Somerset, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 2,324
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Need Tuning? How to tune ??? And run 30%!

You need to establish if you have a tuning issue or an air leak?
Anthoop is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2012, 06:10 PM
  #8
rx7devil210
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: , TX
Posts: 245
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Need Tuning? How to tune ??? And run 30%!

I ran it today an i think its just a tunning issue. But dont you think i should seal the engine up anyway?
rx7devil210 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2012, 02:09 AM
  #9
Anthoop
 
Anthoop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Somerset, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 2,324
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Need Tuning? How to tune ??? And run 30%!

...if it ain't broke don't fix it.
Anthoop is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:17 PM.