Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Cars, Buggies, Trucks, Tanks and more > RC On Road Nitro Cars
Reload this Page >

Cant start hpi Rs4 3 after 5 years of no use

Community
Search
Notices
RC On Road Nitro Cars Discuss all aspects of on-road nitro rc cars here

Cant start hpi Rs4 3 after 5 years of no use

Search this Thread

Old 01-08-2017, 02:12 PM
Bondyz888

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Cant start hpi Rs4 3 after 5 years of no use

I just bought the nitro car and the owner before hadn't used it in 5 years or more. I am a novice at this and can't get it started no matter what i do. I think the carb needs setting back to factory but don't know to do this. And I don't know if there's a routine for starting them after so long of sitting around. I have put new fuel in. The glow plug works fine. And I always try with a fully charged glow starter. There seems to be good compression and the piston moves well. I know fuel is getting to the carb and pretty sure it's making it to the engine as I think I flooded it once. If anyone knows how to factory reset and get it started I would be great full
Old 01-08-2017, 04:29 PM
mine721
My Feedback: (12)

is it the factory motor?
Old 01-09-2017, 12:06 AM
Bondyz888

Yes I think it is the factory engine
Old 01-09-2017, 08:53 AM
mazpr

If its flooded then close the low speed needle all the way, clean the glow plug, flip the engine to dump any excess fuel and crank again.
Of course it will show is flooded by the g plug covered in nitro fuel. You say it has a lot of compression, get a hair dryer or a heat gun, and heat up that block, (some people cover the heatsink with aluminum foil at least at the beginning), and then crank it up. If it starts remove the aluminum foil. There are engine variations in the RS4 platform.

Please check the manual database and follow the instructions depending on the model you got.

http://www.competitionx.com/hpi-racing-manuals/

Can you please post pictures of the engine?