Old 04-27-2005, 09:29 AM
yikes!

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default a typical newbie question (first car)

Hey all great message board you got here. I want to get into the hobby and i really think i want to go nitro. im an electronic engineer and i see electronics all day so im sure you can understand why i want to get a nitro engine.
as a total beginner what would you recommend. i have about a AU1000 max to spend that is to get it fully working with everything.
I went down to my LHS and he told me to go for a simple semi fast car that can enter comps. he had another there which had an oversized engine which he said was good for the WOW factor but cant enter comps coz it dont have a category.
i LIKE the look of the NTC3 plus but he told me it was high maintenance and it has a lot of adjustments that only racers need.
i would like to race one day. and i enjoy messing around with mechanics, improving settings to make things work better etc... but is it way to over the top for a beginner. and what is "high maintenance" anyway? does it mean i will forever be replacing parts or does it mean i will need a really good knowledge of nitro setups just to keep it running. or is it just that i will need to keep it clean/ tuned and well oiled.
any input from experienced enthusiasts would be much appreciated
Old 04-27-2005, 10:26 AM
yikes!

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: a typical newbie question (first car)

also. do the spoilers do anything?
Old 04-27-2005, 12:32 PM
gosha

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback

NTC3 is very tunable and low maintenance. Very good car and very competitive.
RTR is very good to start but if you want to race I would change radio to some synthesized - Airtronics MX-3s or JR XS3. You will have less problems to find free channel.
If you have enough money - buy NTC3 Factory Team kit. You'll need to add engine and radio. Plus some supplemental equipment.