Notices
RC On Road Nitro Cars Discuss all aspects of on-road nitro rc cars here

Newbie with many questions

Search this Thread

Old 02-25-2006, 08:55 AM
gooseter

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie with many questions

OK, for starters, I'm a real newbie, I have been playing around with my old "Wild Pony" for years, but when that finally died, I decided that it was time to fork out the $$$ for a 'real' RC. SO I headed on down to my nearest Toyworld (I'm in rural(ish) Australia, and there is stuff all in the way of hobby shops out here). I'm ended up getting myself a nitro powered on-road beast. I'm not sure on many things, but I will try to outline what I got

It's a GV Models "BV 1/10 Gas Powered Engine Car" (thats copied exactly from the cover of the manual) has a HRT (Holden Racing Team) VY Commodore body, OS 15 size engine and 4WD.

I have attached some pics, and also a link to a site I found that sells them.

[link]http://www.modelflight.com.au/rc_model_cars/rc_cars_hsv_hst_vy_commodore.htm[/link]

What I want to know is, is this a good chassis? motor? setup? I will be using it mainly to hack around car parks and netball/tennis courts.

I have run it in as per the instructions provided, and am up to full throttle using 10% fuel. I shredded the set of tires that came with it within 24hrs, but Toyworld didn't have any inserts (mine went up in a cloud of grey fuzz), So I am using foam tires that came already mounted, and they are lasting longer, although there a heaps of chunks out of them. What tires and inserts would you suggest for someone who drives hard?

Any info and/or hints would be greatly appreciated.

Oh, and the main reasons for getting a petty one over an electric were I get jack of recharging batteries all the time (filling up with fuel and restarting is so much easier), I'm a petrol head and am quite mechanically minded (i could easily re-build the thing if/when I break it), and I LOVE the smell of burnt Methanol!

Thanks