Notices
RC On Road Nitro Cars Discuss all aspects of on-road nitro rc cars here

Can i use my car it wet weather?

Old 11-03-2006, 01:40 PM
talontsiawd

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Can i use my car it wet weather?

Ok, so i'm new to nitro. And the whole thing in general. Basically i was wondering if you can use these cars when it is wet out. I have no intention of using it in the rain, but lately it's been raining just enough to keep the ground wet. The obvious thing for me is the electronics. But i don't plan to go drive through puddles or use it when it's actually raining. I'm sure it will get really dirty as well. My main concern would be to hydrolock the engine but again, just looking at everything, it doesn't seem like it would happen.

The you get into things like traction etc, but that doesn't concern me as much.

Anyway...
Is it ok to drive my car on damp pavement. Not soaked pavement, not puddles, not in the rain. Just pavement that isn't dry or atleast totally dry. I have an hpi evo 3 but that should make a difference unless something is notoriously bad for mositure. Anyway, let me know. Like i said, i'm new to this, i have no clue about these things. Tell me all of the bad, please, i don't want to mess this up. I do want to get a few more days before the rain really starts (cali so it's still never that bad).
Old 11-03-2006, 03:25 PM
swerv512

Default RE: Can i use my car it wet weather?

i was just thinking the same question you have (i'm in san francisco and the rain just started this week). as long as the electronics are safe (i.e. inside a balloon) everything should be ok...
Old 11-03-2006, 03:36 PM
snowbl!nd

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Yeah, just make sure all the electronics are waterproof and do maintenance after every "wet" run to make sure parts dont rust or sieze up. You should be fine.

Driving in the frost is especially fun [>:]
Old 11-03-2006, 05:16 PM
talontsiawd