RC On Road Nitro Cars Discuss all aspects of on-road nitro rc cars here

OFFICIAL RS4 RTR 3 thread!!!!!!!Also type SS and others

Reply
Old 06-21-2003, 02:15 AM
  #26
RS4RACER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: NEW TRIPOLI, PA
Posts: 306
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default OFFICIAL RS4 RTR 3 thread!!!!!!!Also type SS and others

how can i put a 2 speed tranny in my rs4 rtr3? any help appreciated....:-)
RS4RACER is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2003, 03:58 AM
  #27
Allan Aguilar
 
Allan Aguilar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Chang Huwa, TAIWAN
Posts: 434
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default OFFICIAL RS4 RTR 3 thread!!!!!!!Also type SS and others

Quote:
Originally posted by RS4RACER
how can i put a 2 speed tranny in my rs4 rtr3? any help appreciated....:-)
Buy the 2 speed transmission and build it according to the instructions and install it your your RS4 RTR3.
Allan Aguilar is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2003, 01:16 PM
  #28
RS4RACER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: NEW TRIPOLI, PA
Posts: 306
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default OFFICIAL RS4 RTR 3 thread!!!!!!!Also type SS and others

oh so there is like a 2 speed just for it..thanks!
RS4RACER is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2003, 02:47 PM
  #29
Allan Aguilar
 
Allan Aguilar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Chang Huwa, TAIWAN
Posts: 434
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default 2 Speed Transmission for RS4 3

Here is the part number for the 2 speed transmission ;

HPI 86038 - this includes all the parts for the 2 speed upgrade

check this site : http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXBTB6&P=7

Allan Aguilar is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2003, 03:14 PM
  #30
HPIRS4-3SS
 
HPIRS4-3SS's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: miami, FL,
Posts: 836
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default OFFICIAL RS4 RTR 3 thread!!!!!!!Also type SS and others

is it normal for the car to get really dirty when you drive it around? I know it was gonna get a little dirt on but, Its all over the place. especially around the exhaust.
HPIRS4-3SS is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2003, 03:24 PM
  #31
doctafeelgood
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: springfield mo
Posts: 4
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default OFFICIAL RS4 RTR 3 thread!!!!!!!Also type SS and others

check your lhs for prices before going through tower, i got a 2spd for my rs4 for ~$30 i think i dont remember. they hooked me up though.

/john
doctafeelgood is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2003, 04:21 PM
  #32
Rex2342
 
Rex2342's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: East Pittsburgh, PA,
Posts: 1,835
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default OFFICIAL RS4 RTR 3 thread!!!!!!!Also type SS and others

Quote:
Originally posted by HPIRS4-3SS
is it normal for the car to get really dirty when you drive it around? I know it was gonna get a little dirt on but, Its all over the place. especially around the exhaust.
My car gets nasty after I run it for a while.The oil from the exhaust sticks to everything then the dirt from the ground sticks to the oil and then you have a nice big mess.Everytime I run my car I have to spend a good 3 hours taking it apart and cleaning/oiling everything.I suppose you could just clean it off real quick and completly dis-assemble it once a month or so but I like taking mine apart plus you'll find out if anything is missing sooner instead of later.
Rex2342 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2003, 05:17 PM
  #33
GALAXY
 
GALAXY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Gainesville, FL,
Posts: 1,449
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default OFFICIAL RS4 RTR 3 thread!!!!!!!Also type SS and others

I know someone that just bought a 2-speed and a RTR version thinkin he'd save money......the 2 speed doesn't fit with the way the motor is mounted so he needs motor mounts now too.As far as I know,the 2 speed doesn't come with those and I think they're $18
GALAXY is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2003, 12:07 AM
  #34
RS4RACER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: NEW TRIPOLI, PA
Posts: 306
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default OFFICIAL RS4 RTR 3 thread!!!!!!!Also type SS and others

my 2 speed fit into my RTR! by the way i got the 2 speed kit, went in real easy, will test it out on sunday...
RS4RACER is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2003, 02:37 AM
  #35
Marines
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Winter Springs, Florida
Posts: 54
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default OFFICIAL RS4 RTR 3 thread!!!!!!!Also type SS and others

My 2-speed doesnt shift...i need help. I rebuilt the car, and now the 2 speed doesnt shift.
Marines is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2003, 12:03 PM
  #36
gmac4826
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Northeast, OH
Posts: 1,067
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default OFFICIAL RS4 RTR 3 thread!!!!!!!Also type SS and others

i dont know if anyone answered your fuel question but i use odonnel racing fuel (20%) in my rs4 3. all the parts are stock except for white (softer) springs and a red sway bar in the front, purple in the back. also i reccomend buying a fail safe.
gmac4826 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2003, 02:45 PM
  #37
emperor
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: San Marino, CA
Posts: 23
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default OFFICIAL RS4 RTR 3 thread!!!!!!!Also type SS and others

Has anybody noticed much performence increase after adding sway bars?

What color of spings and oil have you tried and with what weight oil. I am using the orange HPI's with Trinity 30 wt oil. I have also added a large spring spaver in the front and medium in the back.
emperor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2003, 02:47 PM
  #38
emperor
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: San Marino, CA
Posts: 23
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default OFFICIAL RS4 RTR 3 thread!!!!!!!Also type SS and others

What Type of fuel are you all using?

I am using Trinity Platinum and seems to work very well.
emperor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2003, 02:49 PM
  #39
RS4RACER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: NEW TRIPOLI, PA
Posts: 306
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default OFFICIAL RS4 RTR 3 thread!!!!!!!Also type SS and others

I too use trinity platinum wit just a little oil to make the oil percentage up to 10%.
RS4RACER is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2003, 04:43 PM
  #40
gmac4826
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Northeast, OH
Posts: 1,067
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default OFFICIAL RS4 RTR 3 thread!!!!!!!Also type SS and others

the only performance increase that i notice with sway bars is less body roll. i have white springs and a red sway bar in front with a purple in rear. i use the stock shock oil because there has never been a problem with it. for fuel i use odonnel racing fueal with a 20% nitro content. for oil i use regular after run oil. i use more than it calls for though because the nitro washes all oil away in an instant. back to suspension, if you put the white springs in the car with out the sway bars your car will roll a LOT!!!!! mine even flipped on tight turns. and it is also a pain because then the gas moves to one side and doesnt get sucked in the engine.
gmac4826 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2003, 05:00 PM
  #41
HPIRS4-3SS
 
HPIRS4-3SS's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: miami, FL,
Posts: 836
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default OFFICIAL RS4 RTR 3 thread!!!!!!!Also type SS and others

so whats the best setup? i mean with springs(what color) and sway bar?
HPIRS4-3SS is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2003, 05:02 PM
  #42
RS4RACER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: NEW TRIPOLI, PA
Posts: 306
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default OFFICIAL RS4 RTR 3 thread!!!!!!!Also type SS and others

gmac4826 : remember that song, all your base are belong to us, thats so funny,lol
RS4RACER is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2003, 05:51 PM
  #43
GALAXY
 
GALAXY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Gainesville, FL,
Posts: 1,449
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default OFFICIAL RS4 RTR 3 thread!!!!!!!Also type SS and others

For the suspension theres never gonna be one "right" setup,it all depends on where you run,turns,tire compound,weight distribution.....all that fun stuff.I know the swaybars are only supposed to be used as the last tuning step when all other options are exhausted like piston/oil combinations,springs,spacers and ride height.Our stock shocks really are not that good and one of mine leaked...if you switch to better shocks you WILL notice a difference.I have the HPI Super Shock Set with the light blue springs it comes with and the preload is set a lil higher on the right rear of the car because its heavier on that tire.I'm usind Associated Slicone Shock Oil and I'm running 30 in the back,40 in the front with #3 pistons in all 4 and its workin pretty good but if I change tires it changes handling.I ran the stock X patterns yesterday and got em to drift really well with that setup.If you just want swaybars cuz they look cool then you should wait and try some other stuff first....happy tuning and good luck
GALAXY is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2003, 06:02 PM
  #44
foxy-delete
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: , ,
Posts: 145
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default OFFICIAL RS4 RTR 3 thread!!!!!!!Also type SS and others

Depends on what it's for.... For speed, a Dodge Stratus had best-test.. But for about more 'offroad' i would sugguest the subaru and a lil bit higher suspension . or otherwise a Mercedes CLK :P as the one in my Gallery.... i like it best gonna get a Subaru once im gonna drive on the grass.... Drived the Merc on grass yesterday and it was quite annoying driving on bad grass whit slicks and very low suspension :stupid:

**EDIT** this was for the body choice question in page 1.. never saw the 3 pages
foxy-delete is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2003, 07:01 PM
  #45
RS4RACER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: NEW TRIPOLI, PA
Posts: 306
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default OFFICIAL RS4 RTR 3 thread!!!!!!!Also type SS and others

speaking of tuning, when i go to adjust the shift time on my 2 speed, which set screw should i turn? there are two holes with set screws, one has a spring and a ball inside the hole, though...
RS4RACER is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2003, 09:49 PM
  #46
gmac4826
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Northeast, OH
Posts: 1,067
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default OFFICIAL RS4 RTR 3 thread!!!!!!!Also type SS and others

yes, i remeber but the song was actually a video game.

for my shock oil i changed it to assicociated 30 wt and i have white shocks purple sway bar in the rear and red in the front. works great for me and other than a fail safe everything is stock. i havent had the car long enough so i dont know what to get yet. so if anyone knows any performance parts for $50 or less that are worth the trouble it would be greatly appreciated if you told me.
gmac4826 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2003, 08:49 PM
  #47
RS4RACER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: NEW TRIPOLI, PA
Posts: 306
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default OFFICIAL RS4 RTR 3 thread!!!!!!!Also type SS and others

[so if anyone knows any performance parts for $50 ]

what type of parts?????
RS4RACER is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2003, 02:19 AM
  #48
Allan Aguilar
 
Allan Aguilar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Chang Huwa, TAIWAN
Posts: 434
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default OFFICIAL RS4 RTR 3 thread!!!!!!!Also type SS and others

Quote:
Originally posted by RS4RACER
speaking of tuning, when i go to adjust the shift time on my 2 speed, which set screw should i turn? there are two holes with set screws, one has a spring and a ball inside the hole, though...
Adjust the set screw with a sping and a ball in it. Turn it all the way clockwise (right turn) until you stop but not too tight, then turn it counter clockwise (left turn) about 2 turns, then try to run the car a few passes and run it full revs, you will hear the transmission shifting or the engine revs changes. If the shifting is too early, adjust the same set screw clockwise (right trun) about 1/8th of a turn then test it again until you get the right shifting point.

If the car does not shift to second gear on your first try, try adjusting the same set screw counter clockwise (left turn) about 1 whole turn and test the car. Do the same process until you have achived the correct shifting point.

Hope this helps.
Allan Aguilar is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2003, 01:24 PM
  #49
joblo1978
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 30
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default OFFICIAL RS4 RTR 3 thread!!!!!!!Also type SS and others

Hey guys what's up, I'm new to the thread and new to nitro R/C. Nitro is so much better than electric. I got an rs4 ss with the following hop ups.

MIP CVD's
HPI performance air cleaner
HPI 12ss sliding carb
CVEC tuned pipe.
Lightweight flywheel
Nitro Racing clutch
Carbon Fiber brake disc
HPI sway bars

It runs pretty quick, I gotta get the hang of tuning it really good though, the carb adjustment and the tune pipe, it seems like it's not wanting to wind out all the way in second and it's slow accelerating from a stop.
joblo1978 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2003, 02:10 PM
  #50
Klocker
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: PA
Posts: 34
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default OFFICIAL RS4 RTR 3 thread!!!!!!!Also type SS and others

About the 2 speed. Has anyone had any issues with the car in 2nd gear to start? I don't feel that this car is shifting yet I have a ton of top end and not so hot low end. I have tried everything suggested in the various threads that deal with this. Could I have a one way bearing bad in the 2 speed?? Wouldn't I know this with the rebuilding of the transmission I've done? I really don't want to have to buy a new 2 speed if I don't have to.

This is killing me
Klocker is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:09 AM.