RC On Road Nitro Cars Discuss all aspects of on-road nitro rc cars here

OFFICIAL RS4 RTR 3 thread!!!!!!!Also type SS and others

Reply
Old 06-24-2003, 03:49 PM
  #51
GALAXY
 
GALAXY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Gainesville, FL,
Posts: 1,449
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default OFFICIAL RS4 RTR 3 thread!!!!!!!Also type SS and others

tune it.......then tune it again........make sure you're going fast enough to need to shift.Try setting that screw about 3 or 4 turns out too...2 didn't work for me and it still won't shift all the time,due to air changes and stuff when I run it.
GALAXY is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2003, 04:18 PM
  #52
RS4RACER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: NEW TRIPOLI, PA
Posts: 306
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default OFFICIAL RS4 RTR 3 thread!!!!!!!Also type SS and others

Well I have nice low end but terrible top end!!! car is stuck in first gear I think and it just crawls along, so I adjusted the set screw, and leaned my engine out and will try to test it out today...Do i really need to take the radio tray out to get the gear cover off to tune it? it is such a pain to do all that....
RS4RACER is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2003, 08:44 PM
  #53
GALAXY
 
GALAXY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Gainesville, FL,
Posts: 1,449
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default OFFICIAL RS4 RTR 3 thread!!!!!!!Also type SS and others

By "tune it" do you mean adjust the shift point on the 2-speed? If thats what you're talking about.....flip the whole car upside down and use the slot in the chassis,its so much easier.
GALAXY is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2003, 10:49 PM
  #54
RS4RACER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: NEW TRIPOLI, PA
Posts: 306
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default OFFICIAL RS4 RTR 3 thread!!!!!!!Also type SS and others

oh, I should of seen that!!!!!the hole in the chassis,good idea,thanks!
RS4RACER is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2003, 03:30 AM
  #55
RBardin
 
RBardin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Woodstock, GA
Posts: 458
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default OFFICIAL RS4 RTR 3 thread!!!!!!!Also type SS and others

delete.
RBardin is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2003, 07:21 PM
  #56
RS4RACER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: NEW TRIPOLI, PA
Posts: 306
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default OFFICIAL RS4 RTR 3 thread!!!!!!!Also type SS and others

delete?
RS4RACER is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2003, 09:02 PM
  #57
HPIRS4-3SS
 
HPIRS4-3SS's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: miami, FL,
Posts: 836
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default OFFICIAL RS4 RTR 3 thread!!!!!!!Also type SS and others

whats the best body for speed?
HPIRS4-3SS is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2003, 10:59 PM
  #58
foxy-delete
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: , ,
Posts: 145
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default OFFICIAL RS4 RTR 3 thread!!!!!!!Also type SS and others

Dodge stratus had the best test i think, But , the body + speed dosnt matter so much, not at all really, its once u drive over 60mph it'll make a diffrense what body u have and if u ain't going that high, i recommend to choose the good looking
foxy-delete is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2003, 11:02 PM
  #59
HPIRS4-3SS
 
HPIRS4-3SS's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: miami, FL,
Posts: 836
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default OFFICIAL RS4 RTR 3 thread!!!!!!!Also type SS and others

alright
HPIRS4-3SS is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2003, 11:03 PM
  #60
RS4RACER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: NEW TRIPOLI, PA
Posts: 306
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default OFFICIAL RS4 RTR 3 thread!!!!!!!Also type SS and others

dude I have a camaro body and it slows my car down so much!!why does it do this?????I cut the side window out and also half of the wind shield...
RS4RACER is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2003, 12:19 AM
  #61
gmac4826
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Northeast, OH
Posts: 1,067
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default OFFICIAL RS4 RTR 3 thread!!!!!!!Also type SS and others

rty cutting out the rear bumper on the body. the air gets caught and slows the car down an awful lot.
gmac4826 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2003, 08:45 AM
  #62
Rex2342
 
Rex2342's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: East Pittsburgh, PA,
Posts: 1,835
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default OFFICIAL RS4 RTR 3 thread!!!!!!!Also type SS and others

What about just drilling a few small holes along the bottom of the bumper?That way you can keep the look and still get less drag.
Rex2342 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2003, 12:49 PM
  #63
gmac4826
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Northeast, OH
Posts: 1,067
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default OFFICIAL RS4 RTR 3 thread!!!!!!!Also type SS and others

you can do that too. but i really dont care what my car looks like. looks dont win a race.
gmac4826 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2003, 04:51 PM
  #64
Rex2342
 
Rex2342's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: East Pittsburgh, PA,
Posts: 1,835
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default OFFICIAL RS4 RTR 3 thread!!!!!!!Also type SS and others

I realize looks don't win but for just bashing around I think it would be fine.I don't race and I also don't like putting my body on because it slows the car down but why spend the time painting a body if your just gonna hack it all up.At least if you drill holes in the rear you get the same affect without sacrificing your paintjob and all the time you spent on it.
Rex2342 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2003, 08:12 PM
  #65
bradz24
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: denver, CO,
Posts: 22
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default OFFICIAL RS4 RTR 3 thread!!!!!!!Also type SS and others

ok guys I have a RTR. that is bone stock and I think I have a problem. . The front diff. doesn't work worth a crap .. when I turn one front wheel it turns BOTH fronts the same way. . I have taken this car totally apart twice and I am getting the same result. I noticed that the front diff has a spring in it that the rear does not. I am afraid that if I loosen the front diff to much it will hurt the cars performance. The front diff might of always been like this. . but when I got the car out this spring to start driving it I noticed that it did this.

I know on my Losi xxx-s the front diff works just like the rear one.
any help would be great.

thanks,
bradz24 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2003, 08:42 PM
  #66
HPIRS4-3SS
 
HPIRS4-3SS's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: miami, FL,
Posts: 836
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default OFFICIAL RS4 RTR 3 thread!!!!!!!Also type SS and others

just take the whole front apart....then put it together (it can hurt the car performance that much, since the ss kit comes disassembled)
HPIRS4-3SS is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2003, 03:48 AM
  #67
Rex2342
 
Rex2342's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: East Pittsburgh, PA,
Posts: 1,835
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default OFFICIAL RS4 RTR 3 thread!!!!!!!Also type SS and others

The spring puts pressure on the diff so it won't spin easy as the rear one does.Hold one tire and then spin the other one.If it doesn't spin freely then you have a problem but if it does your fine.
Rex2342 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2003, 06:36 AM
  #68
r2drift2
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: daly city, CA
Posts: 123
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default my rs4!!!

dude, i crashed my rs4, now its all into small little pieces. i just bought a new body too. damn, now i have to buy a new one.
r2drift2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2003, 02:29 PM
  #69
Dstruked
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 72
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default My RS4 SS mmmmm

Here is my RS4 SS

Graphite upper deck
Aluminum shocks
aluminum arms
aluminum bulkheads
aluminum ball cups
titanium dog bones
vented flyweheel
2 speed
Dstruked is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2003, 03:16 PM
  #70
HPIRS4-3SS
 
HPIRS4-3SS's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: miami, FL,
Posts: 836
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default OFFICIAL RS4 RTR 3 thread!!!!!!!Also type SS and others

what are the best tires for bashing? they will be used on a street
HPIRS4-3SS is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2003, 09:17 PM
  #71
RS4RACER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: NEW TRIPOLI, PA
Posts: 306
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default OFFICIAL RS4 RTR 3 thread!!!!!!!Also type SS and others

DAMN FAILSAFE screwed my whole ****ing car up. every time i use it, the ****ing LED light comes on and it wont let my throttle servo move. so I took it out and the engine goes in full throttle and the car runs away(count to 10, buddy, itll be OK:-) ) so whats wrong??
RS4RACER is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2003, 03:15 AM
  #72
Allan Aguilar
 
Allan Aguilar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Chang Huwa, TAIWAN
Posts: 434
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default OFFICIAL RS4 RTR 3 thread!!!!!!!Also type SS and others

Quote:
Originally posted by RS4RACER
DAMN FAILSAFE screwed my whole ****ing car up. every time i use it, the ****ing LED light comes on and it wont let my throttle servo move. so I took it out and the engine goes in full throttle and the car runs away(count to 10, buddy, itll be OK:-) ) so whats wrong??
There are some points that you have to check why your failsafe is not working properly.

1. Check your receiver battery, if the failsafe detects that battery voltage is low, it will automatically apply the brakes.
2. Check your failsage settings/set up. Push your radio trigger like applying full brakes and press set-up/enter from your fail safe.
3. Check your battery from your radio. If the failsafe senses radio interference, loss of signal, the fail safe immediately applies the brakes.
4. Check your radio and receiver for glitches. This will also trigger your failsafe to apply the brakes.
5. If nothing happens after trying the above, double check your failsafe's owners manual, otherwise, send the failsafe to the maker/distributor and have it serviced/checked.
6. The final recourse is to buy a new one.

Remember, once the failsafe triggers the servo to apply the brakes due to the items that I have stated above, you can only move the steering left to right, you might think that your car is doing okey but, there is something wrong with the "electrical/radio" system fo your car. Another thing to remember is always check your battery voltage/condition/charge level and make sure that they have enough juice to power your receiver and servos. This happened to me this afternoon when my car suddenly stopped because I forgot to recharge my receiver battery pack, fortunately, I have in my tool box a 4 pcs brand new size AA battery in my receiver battery holder, and off I go again after replacing my pack. By the way, I use a dynamite Race Guard failsafe, and I guess that failsafe is an angel to me.

Hope this helps.
Allan Aguilar is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2003, 04:17 AM
  #73
Rex2342
 
Rex2342's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: East Pittsburgh, PA,
Posts: 1,835
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default OFFICIAL RS4 RTR 3 thread!!!!!!!Also type SS and others

http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXVB89&P=7
http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXVB87&P=M
http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXVB88&P=M


I was browsing for some more graphite parts for my Rs4 3 SS and came across these little gems!!The only problem is that I don't know if they will fit my SS.Has anyone used any of these parts before?The reason I'm asking about these is because i'm not a big fan of aluminum and want to keep the weight down but stiff get some stronger parts.My stock ones have taken a beating and are showing signs of wear and tear like flexing and twisting and want to upgrade before they completely break.
Rex2342 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2003, 01:49 PM
  #74
RS4RACER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: NEW TRIPOLI, PA
Posts: 306
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default OFFICIAL RS4 RTR 3 thread!!!!!!!Also type SS and others

Quote:
Originally posted by RS4RACER
DAMN FAILSAFE screwed my whole ****ing car up. every time i use it, the ****ing LED light comes on and it wont let my throttle servo move. so I took it out and the engine goes in full throttle and the car runs away(count to 10, buddy, itll be OK:-) ) so whats wrong??
sorry for the language ,just venting here,guys
RS4RACER is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2003, 01:56 PM
  #75
GALAXY
 
GALAXY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Gainesville, FL,
Posts: 1,449
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default OFFICIAL RS4 RTR 3 thread!!!!!!!Also type SS and others

I don't know about those...doesn't say RS4 3 anywhere on those 3.I like aluminum myself,I know its not gonna flex but I gotta say,I got the carbon graphite bumper support to see what the carbon is all about and its way stiff!I want the upper deck now but as far as any suspension parts I'm going with aluminum.
GALAXY is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:58 PM.