Notices
RC Robotics and Autonomous Robots Discuss autonomous and radio control robots and anything related to robotics in here

converting air to electric retracts.

Old 01-30-2013, 09:09 AM
mustang493

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default converting air to electric retracts.

If anyone would like information on converting air retracts to electric i'm happy to post my research of the last few months on the topic. I've been building a Mick Reeves Lightening and wanted a much tighter retract to fit snug in the wing. I've used a screw jack system, very easy engineering to convert and have used an Arduino uno micro controller with a arduino motor shield to operate the gear doors, sequencing and retract motors. I'm new to RC Universe and this forum but would be happy to share for the benefit of all.
Old 01-30-2013, 09:23 AM
mustang493

Default RE: converting air to electric retracts.

[img]webkit-fake-url://034E32BB-0484-4731-962B-E35E658A84BA/image.tiff[/img]

Motor shield on top of the UNO

Old 01-30-2013, 09:27 AM
mustang493

[img]webkit-fake-url://51B42D1A-41F2-4659-9863-110E32879EB7/image.tiff[/img]
Retract mechanism note the small motor with gearbox
Old 01-30-2013, 11:08 AM
mustang493

The concept behind this conversion is nothing new but most people are afraid of the electronics associated with it. conversion of an air retract is fairly straight forward. the piston is removed and a 4mm threaded screw driven by a 6v geared motor is used to drive the gear up and down. when the screw reaches the end of it's travel the motor stalls and draws a lot of current. Its this increase in current draw that trigers the Arduino microcontroller to shut the motor down.