RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   RC Robotics and Autonomous Robots (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/rc-robotics-autonomous-robots-490/)
-   -   Modding Ultimate Wall-E (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/rc-robotics-autonomous-robots-490/8283344-modding-ultimate-wall-e.html)

zaintlouis 12-26-2008 03:55 AM

Modding Ultimate Wall-E

i'm not an expert here so please forgive me with my noob questions. i got an Ultimate Wall-E robot toy for my 2 boys. it looks ok but i think it needs some modding.

like.. the nicad battery pack is small like 6 cells (double A size cells) and gets easily drain.

1) can we use lipo 7.4 battery packs in it.
2) can we make room inside its compartment to place an extra battery pack?
3) i also think the thread wheels doesn't have bearings, so plastic bearing make it a major drag and helps drain battery life faster
4) i was hoping someone would help and make some instructions as to incorporating metal bearings in it just like in our r/c cars.
5) does lipo battery packs only good for brushless motors? can i use a parallel wiring for two lipo packs to wall-e. no harm could be done?
5) anymore modding ideas is much more welcome. and thanks in advance.

zaintlouis 04-02-2009 06:08 PM

RE: Modding Ultimate Wall-E

Jusy found out that 7.4 lipos can be use to Wall-E. but you will have to repack it.

zaintlouis 06-12-2009 03:13 PM

Lipos can be use both brush and brushless motors.
lipo packs in parallel connection is ok to use on wall-e or any battery operated toys or devices.
wall-e doesn't like rough pavements. dont ever let your kids play him there. he likes smooth tiled floors, carpets. or any smoother surface areas. one of my kids wall-e got one of its gears broken when he was used on rough pavement. after that incident wall-e can't perform to dance perfectly anymore luckyly i was able to repair it. i made the broken part much stronger. he's now dancing perfectly.