Community
Search
Notices
RC Rock Crawlers The official rock crawling forum right here on RCU. Rock Crawler Trucks Rule!

HPI crawler king

Search this Thread

Old 11-19-2011, 06:29 PM
diabolic-mind

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default HPI crawler king

hey guys. i am fairly new to the rc rock crawler scene. i am currently working on a trade whih will get me a HPI crawler king. being that this is the first crawler i will have owned. i was wondering what informtion you guys could give me. things like what should i expect from this crawler, possible problems to looks for, tweaks and adjustments to do to it, and mods that i can do with our without needing extra parts. sorry for sounding like a rookie, but i guess i am exactly that with this area of rc's. all your help is appreciated, thanks
Old 11-19-2011, 08:57 PM
nitrosportsandrunner

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Default RE: HPI crawler king

the hpi is decent.

it does have a higher center of gravity than other crawlers due to the trans design.

the stock tires are OK, but there are lots of better tires out there.

if it has not already been done, then mod the steering servo to be over the axle. the stock setup has lots of play and is weak. there are mounting kits to put it over the axle so that the steering will be firmer and more direct.

doesnt hurt to upgrade the stock servo and front steering link as well.

you can also use a small hump pack or a lipo pack which you could mount over the front axle. this places battery weight lower in the truck.(for lipo you would need a LVC or LVA)

you can also pull the foams out of the tires and cut a star or gear pattern into them to make them softer and grip better.

other than those things, its upto personal preference. you can change the pinion gear, to get more torque with a smaller one or more wheel speed with a larger one.

you can change the shock oil, or springs to change the suspsension setting.

there are also mulitple link mounts that you can play with.