Community
Search
Notices
RC Rock Crawlers The official rock crawling forum right here on RCU. Rock Crawler Trucks Rule!

Convert slash 4x2 into 4x4

Search this Thread

Old 10-21-2012, 08:35 AM
Tacomatom

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Convert slash 4x2 into 4x4

I bought a slash 4x2 that was converted into a rock crawler. I did not realize it lacked one item. 4x4. What is necessary to convert it into a 4x4? I am new to the hobby and am need of guidance.
Old 10-21-2012, 10:07 AM
nitrosportsandrunner

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Default RE: Convert slash 4x2 into 4x4

ORIGINAL: Tacomatom

I bought a slash 4x2 that was converted into a rock crawler. I did not realize it lacked one item. 4x4. What is necessary to convert it into a 4x4? I am new to the hobby and am need of guidance.
I gotta see pics!

Its not an easy task to turn a 2wd slash (or rusty or pede) into a 4x4. But it has been done. The general way is to bolt another trans to the front and run 2 motors. There is a fair bit of work to be done. The arms have to be custom to fit the trans and still have steering hubs. The steering assembly has to be modded to fit around the trans case and front body mounts have to be custom as well.

Long story short, its not very practical. What you will get in the end (after spending at least $100) is a semi capable offroader. Im sure you already know that a independant suspension doesnt work as well as solid axles. There is less clearance.

Im not trying to diswade you. If you want to take on the task then do so! Custom jobs are cool IMO, even if they are not practical.

here are a few pics I found of custom 4wd pedes
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Xv64962.jpg
Views:	82
Size:	18.2 KB
ID:	1813416   Click image for larger version

Name:	Up47258.jpg
Views:	107
Size:	56.8 KB
ID:	1813417   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ot49378.jpg
Views:	82
Size:	73.7 KB
ID:	1813418  
Old 10-21-2012, 02:18 PM
phmaximus

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts