Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Cars, Buggies, Trucks, Tanks and more > RC Rock Crawlers
Reload this Page >

New to everything....any advice welcome

Community
Search
Notices
RC Rock Crawlers The official rock crawling forum right here on RCU. Rock Crawler Trucks Rule!

New to everything....any advice welcome

Search this Thread

Old 07-20-2014, 03:33 AM
silversurfr77

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New to everything....any advice welcome

Hi everybody, this is my first time here. Just purchased a Tamiya kit for a crawler, and I'm a little stuck. Rather than going into individual categories, the club house seemed like a sort of general discussion forum. I was hoping I could get some help on electronics here.

the kit came with a 540 brushless motor. I'm trying to figure out what kind of ESC I need. Many of them refer to how many turns? but I am a complete noob and have know clue where to find this information. If anyone wants to help I have The CR-01 Rock Socker kit. I just found 2 futaba s3305 servos on ebay and they are on the way.

Another thing that I was unsure about, my local hobby centre has strongly recommended that LiPo batteries are the way to Go. The servos I purchased say nickel-cadmium only, but Tower Hobbies info section on my servos says that I can run LiPo's, but to check the output. Don't even know where to begin there......

Trying to put this puzzle together, but the language is Greek to me. If anyone wants to help, I would be much obliged.
Old 07-22-2014, 07:04 AM
AMA 74894
My Feedback: (1)

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

I'd post the question in the rock crawler forum, with a few IMPORTANT notes.. I googled your car kit, every one I've seen shows that it is a 540 size BRUSHED (NOT BrushLESS) ESC.

EASY way to check: a brushed motor has TWO wires, a brushLESS motor has 3 wires. (ESC's and motors are NOT interchangable... a brushed motor must use a brushed ESC, brushless motor must use a brushless ESC.)