Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > RC Sailboats
Reload this Page >

Some help and advice needed please

Community
Search
Notices
RC Sailboats For all your r/c sailing needs, post here.

Some help and advice needed please

Search this Thread

Old 04-12-2013, 01:30 PM
j.duncker
My Feedback: (2)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Some help and advice needed please

I will start with some background. I am an experienced builder and pilot of planes. I am retired and live full time on a sailboat and will be in Grenada in the West Indies when I am thinking about building a RC model boat.

I thought about buying one of these nearly ready to sail kits. You know shake the box and go sailing but I know that I won't get much satisfaction from that. I don't need the instant gratification. I sit out hurricane season in Grenada and will have time on my hands once the boat jobs are done.

But for 200 euros I can get a 45 inch monohull with all the bits and pieces.

For a bit more I can get the Thunder Tiger Trimaran and that is a little more appealing.

However I think I want to scratch build from a plan or maybe build from a kit. I have downloaded and worked my way through the US 1M construction tips guide and I don't see anything that I can't cope with.

My first question is I will be sailing the model in the anchorage and most times there is a degree of chop there. Nothing that bothers my 44 ft boat or the 9 ft RIB tender but I suspect it will affect the model. My gut feeling is that it will upset the tri more.

So what kind of model boat will handle the chop best. Mono or Tri? I am thinking about something 45 to 48 inches long.

If I go the mono hull route I might go for a something that will look like the J class Endeavor when sailing but will have a deep fin keel with torpedo bulb ballast. Is this stupid? I suspect that the fine bow and stern lines may make this a bit of a semi submersible. Is it like the beginners in RC flight with Spitfire dreams.