RC Sailboats For all your r/c sailing needs, post here.

New sailboat suggestion

Old 09-10-2017, 05:11 PM
bryston

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default New sailboat suggestion

hi, am looking to get RTR salilboat for 400$ max, I have one from HK angel but I can't make it sail right, need something better, any suggestion?
thanks
Old 09-10-2017, 08:48 PM
blvdbuzzard

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback

I have the HK Monsson's and it is fun to sit back in a comfy chair, cold drink, watch it sail up and down the pond. Just easy and relaxing. No idea if I am sailing it correctly or not, it goes well and when the wind comes up, I have done the submarine as the wind blew the nose under water. I learned I was using WAY to much sail going down wind. Now I just easy it out a bit and away she goes. I am still learning how to get the most out of it. My tack's are not that great, but I get it to go up wind pretty well.

What is your boat doing or not doing? When you say "sail right" What is wrong? Is it leaning over to far, not holding the heading? Turns into the wind or turns away from the wind?

Buzz.
Old 09-11-2017, 12:19 AM
mfr02

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback

It is reasonably well spoken of on other forums, with the usual caveat of it needing one or two minor improvements.
All model sailboats need setting up correctly, it is surprising how many people think that the sails are ornaments rather than the drive unit, and that quite small adjustments affecting the shape of the sails can make a huge difference to performance.
Old 09-11-2017, 02:04 AM
bryston

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback

Any link to where I can read ?
thanks
Old 09-11-2017, 04:57 AM
mfr02

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback

I found my info on rcgroups, but previous attempts to put links to "rival" forums from here have ended with the reply being wiped.