Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > RC Sailboats
Reload this Page >

Angles of lean

Community
Search
Notices
RC Sailboats For all your r/c sailing needs, post here.

Angles of lean

Search this Thread

Old 07-09-2004, 02:40 PM
discoboy

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Angles of lean

Firstly, I'm new to all this sailing stuff so I might be running before I walk but I'm building a wing sail catamaran, with a past in aircraft I thought it easier then all that sewing. I've been looking around the internet and found that most rigid wing sails are used on speed sailing boats, I've also noticed that a lot of them have the wing (sail) leant over to one side.

I was wonding if anyone knew why this was, is it so that the lift created by the wing also lifts the hull out of the water?

Also, what would be a good poisition for my wing pivot, I've read some pages saying that 10% rear of the leading edge will keep the wing self adjusting itself to the right angle of attack. I might have missread this though...
Old 07-16-2004, 04:20 PM
discoboy

Default RE: Angles of lean

Anyone???
Old 07-19-2004, 11:17 AM
skibum315

Ok, so I don't know if it's directly applicable, but I found this ([link=http://www.rclandsailing.com/design.html#mast]rclandsailing.com[/link]) a while ago. Seems to discuss what you were asking about. Hope it helps some.

Jonathan

PS - You could also try doing a search for "Wing Mast" on Google. It'll probably come back with tons of information.
Old 07-30-2004, 03:45 PM
Al Stein

A sailboat leaning is said to be heeling or heeled. The amount is called a heel angle.

With conventional sails and hulls, the optimum is usually about 15 degrees -- at that angle the loss of driving power is still pretty low from the air spilling out of the sail and the sail appearing smaller to the wind, but there's a significant reduction in wetted area under the water.