Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > RC Sailboats
Reload this Page >

Basic sailing questions about Kyosho Seawind

Community
Search
Notices
RC Sailboats For all your r/c sailing needs, post here.

Basic sailing questions about Kyosho Seawind

Search this Thread

Old 10-02-2004, 06:59 PM
darkside_floyd1

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Basic sailing questions about Kyosho Seawind

I'm looking to get into sailing. Currently I have done something in about every arena airplanes, cars, and boats (all nitro). So Helicopters and Sailboats are my next interests...

So far the Kyosho Seawind looks like what I want to go with. With that said...

How big of a lake / pond would I need? How deep? (I don't want to get stuck with the low hanging ballast.) How much wind?
Does this boat vs others have any advantages / limitations based on conditions over others?
I just want to be sure that as a beginner I don't want a craft that will limit my time on the water.

Can anyone point me to a site that is a good guide for learning how to sail?

Thanks
Old 10-02-2004, 11:27 PM
LtDoc

Default RE: Basic sailing questions about Kyosho Seawind

'Floyd-1,
"How big of a lake / pond would I need? How deep? (I don't want to get stuck with the low hanging ballast.)"

Well, the lake/pond should be at least as deep as the depth of the keel (the 'hangy-down' thing under the boat), so as a rough guess, call it 'knee-deep'. Anything more than that is 'good', anything less is 'bad'. Most ornamental ponds in parks are 'deep enough', sort of. You should count on getting your feet wet at least part of the time.

"How much wind?"

There has to be at least some wind, but when it's strong enough to blow your hat off, or make you squint your eyes, stay home. Almost anything inbetween will 'work'. If you can hold the boat with one hand without the wind blowing it away, it's good sailing weather, sort of.

" Does this boat vs others have any advantages / limitations based on conditions over others?"