Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 14 of 14 FirstFirst ... 4121314
Results 326 to 350 of 350

Thread: Northwind 36


  1. #326
    pjesus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Lisboa, PORTUGAL
    Posts
    6
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Northwind 36

    ORIGINAL: Sailingkid
    Has anyone thought about adding say 300mm to the top of a northwinds mast then using a really big mast crane top put on a lot more sail area? i reckon they would fly like that!
    I don't think the Northwind can handle much more sail area, unless in very light winds.
    Otherwise, you'll either have the bow diving going downwind or the boat tilting a lot when going upwind...

    Anyway, try it and give some feedback.

  2. #327
    cat sailor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Discovery Bay, HONG KONG
    Posts
    12
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Northwind 36

    The NW36 is in the 36-600 class which if raced in class is limited to 600 square inches of sail area. There is an optimum hight for a mast, and the NW36's is already pretty high. The rig on the boat as it comes out of the box is pretty basic and quite dated. I've mentioned the limitations of the design in earlier posts on this thread, but if it was to be re-desiged with the modern philosophy, the mast would probably be a little higher, the mainsail would have a higher aspect ratio (be taller and thinner in otherwords) and have a square top, and the jib will be a bit smaller and have a higher aspect ratio as well.

    How would this help? Well, the higher aspect ratios will give a bit more power with less aerodynamic drag and the square top will allow the sail to relase power without affecting performance too much. This works because as the mainsheet is eased, the wind blows the top of the sail open first thus releasing the power from the top of the sail keeping the bottom of the sail powered up. This means the boat has less heel when sailing close to the wind and it will go faster. To see what I mean, have a look at Midget's first photo. His NW36 is sailing almot the same tack as the other boats but is heeled much more. The boats behind have more sail area at the top and have opened out there because the helm has eased the mainsheet. Now, these are a different design and the NW36 isn't allowed a sail such as these boats due to the class maximum roach of 2 1/2". However, a max allowable roach when measured perpendicular to the leach at the head of the sail will allow some 'squareness' and with a straight leach, will allow more control than currently afforded.

    Sorry Midget, it's not a criticism of your new sail, in fact your boat looks fantastic.

    To see what a modern sail looks like, google for this year's Amercias cup boats and have a look at their rigs.

  3. #328
    pjesus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Lisboa, PORTUGAL
    Posts
    6
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Northwind 36

    ORIGINAL: cat sailor

    [...]the square top will allow the sail to relase power without affecting performance too much. This works because as the mainsheet is eased, the wind blows the top of the sail open first thus releasing the power from the top of the sail keeping the bottom of the sail powered up.
    This brings an interesting question: How do you make this work on a NW, that needs the backstay?
    The "square" top of the mainsail can't be connected to the mast crane, otherwise that effect you described simply won't happen.

  4. #329
    cat sailor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Discovery Bay, HONG KONG
    Posts
    12
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Northwind 36

    No, the top isn't connected to the crane. It's held in it's square shape by bracing from battens. My full size boats both have square top sails and they have the square held out by a batten which points up from the horizontal by about 30 degrees as well as having stiifer material at the top of the sail. I plan to make such a sail for mine from mylar (when I eventually find the time) which will have the top re-inforced with either a double or triple thickness, or cloth tape.

  5. #330

    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Leopold,GeelongVictoria, AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    24
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Northwind 36

    yes i think that you would need to take the masthead crane off and build a longer one, and as long as you built the sail so that it flags the top upwind and sets downwind i think ud be fine.[8D]

  6. #331
     Midget's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    perth, AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    1,716
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Northwind 36

    I don't Think extending the mast 300mm will help.
    It will make the yacht go faster in light wind, but in heavy it will be way to much.
    I say this because When i sailed my northwind against some Storm 100's, For starters the storm
    100 is 1m long (Northwind 36 is 90cm), Also the storm 100 has a mast high of 100cm (Northwind 123cm).
    Im not sure how much the storm 100 ways compared to the northwind, But i can tell you the storm is a lot heaver.
    So anyways, I noticed that when a gust of wind hit my nortwind it would just heal over, until
    I let the sails out a bit, Mean while a gust hits the storm 100, doesn't heal over and just powers on past me.
    I think this is because of 2 reasons, the sails are to tall, or the lead weight is to light.

    I'm not sure what winds you sail your northwinds in, But I would think about changing the shape of the
    northwinds Main sail.

    The First pic is the shape of sail im thinking of, because the standard sail in my opinion spills wind very low to
    the boom. This is ok in heavy winds, but not so good in light.
    The second pic is just comparing the to boats on the same tack, same wind gust, just the northwind leaning a hell
    of a lot more than the storm 100.

    But this is just my opinion, By all means make the mast taller
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Yw67568.jpg 
Views:	45 
Size:	75.2 KB 
ID:	782057   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	To43414.jpg 
Views:	31 
Size:	86.0 KB 
ID:	782058  

  7. #332

    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    surrey, BC, CANADA
    Posts
    3,768
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Northwind 36

    I just checked mine over and charging the electronics.I have 2 of them,one for the Girlfriend.We never used them at all this year,but now the weather is lousy and blustery.Cant wait to get them on the water again [8D]

  8. #333

    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    surrey, BC, CANADA
    Posts
    3,768
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Northwind 36

    Had a good time with it,but I think my sails are sloppy and the Sail angle seems too much at midstick.
    I had some very strong gusts,I almost had the sail in the water.I find that the nose digs in when running agressive,its still above water,is there a way to get the rear to run deeper?

  9. #334

    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Kitchener, ON, CANADA
    Posts
    124
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Northwind 36

    Hi
    I've had the bow of my NW go competely under the water when running down wind in a strong wind,I think it has to do with exeding the maximium hull speed the boat just won't go any faster so the bow is forced down.
    As to the boat heeling over so far that the sails are in the water ,When mine gets to about 45 degree's I let the sail's out a bit and the boat straighten's up.
    Bob

  10. #335

    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    surrey, BC, CANADA
    Posts
    3,768
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Northwind 36

    Dang,so I am exceeding the boats limits [X(]
    I guess it wont plane like a power boat?
    I like it when it gets rough out here,we've got plenty of lakes and stormy weather most times of the year.
    I would love a boat that take some punishment and sail in rough conditions.
    I looked at the Avalon 44 by Victor models,is it worthy? Anything else a bit bigger and performance oriented?

  11. #336

    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    largo, FL
    Posts
    12
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Northwind 36

    I need help. I just took my boat out for one of the first sails and i forgot to tighten the nut down on the rudder post. The rudder is now on the bottom of my lake and i have no idea where to get a new rudder. apparently the northwind as been discontinued??? Any ideas are welcome-alan

  12. #337

    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    BlackpoolLancs, UNITED KINGDOM
    Posts
    919
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Northwind 36

    Obechi, brass rod, epoxy. It is quite possible to actually make one. If somebody else is sailing one, you get the dimensions from there.

  13. #338

    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Kitchener, ON, CANADA
    Posts
    124
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Northwind 36

    I aggree,You"ll probably have to make one.
    Bob

  14. #339
    Strato50's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Hamilton, ON, CANADA
    Posts
    1,125
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Northwind 36

    Hey hey guys, its been about a year since i bought my NW kit, and only really now ive gotten much progress on it :P Still needing to be completed are my radio gear stand and finally sail rigging.

    Do you guys have a secret to storing the rig when transporting? From what i can see completely detaching the mainsail from the mast would take alot of time and effort, that would probably result in my breaking something off of it.. same goes for splitting the mast sections

    Anyway heres my new paint job.. she still needs a name, any suggestions?










    CAN-AM Rc Tank Club - Tiger I * Panzer IV * Panzer III * Chi Nu Kai * Stug III-G **** KV-2 * Pershing * T-34/85 * M4A1 Sherman * SU-76i

    Clark board wizard. I can fix it!

  15. #340

    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Kitchener, ON, CANADA
    Posts
    124
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Northwind 36

    Hi
    I have a triangleular wooden box that I transport and store my mast and sail's as a unit.
    Bob

  16. #341

    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Victoria, AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    2
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Northwind 36

    Hey Guys, After reading most of this thread I have come to the concluion that your all nuts. I can see why though. Ive had my NW for about 4ish years now and Its a lot of fun and a great way to waste time. There are 5 of us where I live who have NW's. They are all set up on different channels so we can have evenly matched regattas with the same specifications. They are all custom painted so you can tell them apart in the distance. I live by the ocean and we sail in the harbour and as long as we wash them down afterwards, the salt water doesn't matter. I happened to stumble across this thread after I was looking at ways to fix a couple of things on my yatch. and I found all the answers here and It looks as though I'll be busy for a while. Thanx Guys from Victoria Australia

  17. #342

    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Caxias, PORTUGAL
    Posts
    2
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Northwind 36

    Hello all!

    This is my first post here in this Forum. I live in Portugal and I'm a personal friend of pjesus (yellow Java). I have a Northwind 36 that I decided, a few year ago, to upgrade and transform.

    Here I'm sending some pictures of the "new" Northwind MAXIMUS.

    The "interiors" mounted on carbon fibre.


    Some handmade deck fittings and bowsies.


    Carbon reinforcment to support higher mast tension.


    New carbon mast crane


    The electronics in place and a carbon shelf to hold battery box.


    With the first set of molded sails.



    I hope you liked Maximus.

  18. #343

    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Kitchener, ON, CANADA
    Posts
    124
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Northwind 36

    Hi
    Welcome to the forum,You did a great job on your NW I like the rigging
    Where did you get your sail's?
    Bob

  19. #344

    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Caxias, PORTUGAL
    Posts
    2
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Northwind 36

    Hi bobsir
    Thanks for your words.
    The sails are homemade. I used a program named sailcut4 to cut the pannels and then I mounted the sails over a homemade mould.

  20. #345
    pjesus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Lisboa, PORTUGAL
    Posts
    6
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Northwind 36

    ORIGINAL: lmbp

    This is my first post here in this Forum. I live in Portugal and I'm a personal friend of pjesus (yellow Java).
    It was about time you showed Maximus around here! ;-)

  21. #346
    TIA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    La Habra, CA
    Posts
    1,143
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Northwind 36

    Hi!

    Where are you guys getting your sails or sail material?

    Anyone ever make a B or C rig for this boat?

  22. #347

    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Kitchener, ON, CANADA
    Posts
    124
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Northwind 36

    Hi
    For sail's you might try here http://www.carrsails.com/
    Bob

  23. #348
    thedonnn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    mpls, MN
    Posts
    3
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Northwind 36

    Very nice
    would like to see more detail on your rigging however

  24. #349

    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Tinley Park, IL
    Posts
    10
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Northwind 36

    You guys have done some nice work. I just finished painting my first RC Sailboat, it's the Northwind 28.

    I've seen all the custom work done on the sail servos. I was wondering if the servo arm seems to be such an issue, has anyone considered converting to a winch servo? Can that be done? Any thoughts on the pros & cons?

    I'll try to post pics soon.

    thx
    ZRYDE

  25. #350

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Wildwood, FL
    Posts
    1
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    Quote Originally Posted by ABE7 View Post
    their is this guy with a r/c sub that happens to be their sometimes when i'm boating. SEES MY BOUT HE RAMS INTO IT![:@]
    do you guys have any ideas on what i should do to avoid his sub?[]
    Depth charges! LOL


Page 14 of 14 FirstFirst ... 4121314

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:36 PM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.