Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 3 of 14 FirstFirst 1234513 ... LastLast
Results 51 to 75 of 350

Thread: Northwind 36


  1. #51
    fishy2k8's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Avon, IN
    Posts
    829
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Northwind 36

    the pic link didnt work
    Chris -Dumas SkDaddle, Northwind 36, HPI MT2, Jae 12g

  2. #52

    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Kitchener, ON, CANADA
    Posts
    124
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Northwind 36

    Hi Fishy
    I think I made a mistake when I uploaded the pics,try again I changed the format
    Once again let me know what you think
    Bob
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Om34415.jpg 
Views:	33 
Size:	60.5 KB 
ID:	295151   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Zu65869.jpg 
Views:	13 
Size:	37.7 KB 
ID:	295152  

  3. #53
    fishy2k8's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Avon, IN
    Posts
    829
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Northwind 36

    thanks, but i dont quite get the 2nd pic, wut is it?
    Chris -Dumas SkDaddle, Northwind 36, HPI MT2, Jae 12g

  4. #54

    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Kitchener, ON, CANADA
    Posts
    124
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Northwind 36

    Hi Fishy
    As I said in the one post you could move the one cross piece that the servo's mount on back about a 1\4 inch,but you would have to make a new cross piece,the second pic was a rough idea of what the cross piece would look like.
    This would let you get a 3802 servo in the box and if you used 4 alkaline batteries you would get 6 volt's to the servo.
    Bob
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Ec88016.jpg 
Views:	10 
Size:	18.3 KB 
ID:	295258  

  5. #55
    fishy2k8's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Avon, IN
    Posts
    829
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Northwind 36

    thank you very much, this will help greatly
    Chris -Dumas SkDaddle, Northwind 36, HPI MT2, Jae 12g

  6. #56

    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Franklin,, NC
    Posts
    297
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Northwind 36

    Hi guys: I need some sails for an "Epic" Marblehead class boat I put together many years ago.
    They were referred to as 50/500 class because they had 500 inches of sail area and were 50 inches long.
    Can anyone recommend a good sailmaker?

    3dbob in NC

  7. #57

    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Kitchener, ON, CANADA
    Posts
    124
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Northwind 36

    Hi I think Carr Sails will do custom work,try contacting them and see.[link=http://www.carrsails.com]
    Bob

  8. #58

    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Kitchener, ON, CANADA
    Posts
    124
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Northwind 36

    Hi
    I finally got my Northwind done and on the water , This is my first RC Sailboat and i'm really pleased with the way it turned out.

    Bob
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Pn36833.jpg 
Views:	11 
Size:	99.1 KB 
ID:	301559   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Ez83759.jpg 
Views:	11 
Size:	89.3 KB 
ID:	301560   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Rx60096.jpg 
Views:	12 
Size:	106.2 KB 
ID:	301561   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Mf96493.jpg 
Views:	21 
Size:	54.2 KB 
ID:	301562  

  9. #59
    fishy2k8's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Avon, IN
    Posts
    829
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Northwind 36

    send pics of the inside radio compartment, and some of up close, like the decking.
    Chris -Dumas SkDaddle, Northwind 36, HPI MT2, Jae 12g

  10. #60

    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Wichita, KS
    Posts
    158
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Northwind 36

    Bob,
    I saw those pics of your boat on the Northwind Yahoo group... the boat looks nice! I'm glad you opted to upgrade it somewhat... I think you'll be very happy with it. Enjoy!

    Andy
    Air Capitol Model Sailing Club
    AMYA #172

  11. #61

    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Kitchener, ON, CANADA
    Posts
    124
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Northwind 36

    Hi Fishy
    These are the best pictures I have of what you ask for,sorry they are'nt better
    but they really lose some thing when I upload them
    I posted a picture before of the servo tray before it was installed in the boat,the
    jib and mainsail sheet's run under the deck you can see in the pictures where the
    jib sheet comes through the deck,the mainsail sheet comes up through the hatch.
    If you need any thing else let me know and I'll try to help.

    Bob
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Kf13731.jpg 
Views:	18 
Size:	27.9 KB 
ID:	302080   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Kp33533.jpg 
Views:	22 
Size:	34.4 KB 
ID:	302081   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Qo41071.jpg 
Views:	30 
Size:	44.5 KB 
ID:	302079  

  12. #62
    schmism's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    STL, MO
    Posts
    587
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Northwind 36

    speaking of haveing northwinds on the water. I FINALLY got mine on the water yesterday also. I took some pics but forgot to bring the camera to work with me.

    I was both discourged and happy.

    I thought it would be a good day for sailing as we had a storm moving in and i figured we would have a good breeze. well NO. it was both gusty and shifty. so when it was blowing it was fun to play with, but there was more than a little time spent floating out in the middle of the lake so i could get moveing again.

    The pond i was sailing on was a bit sheltered soooo....

    pics to follow
    T-maxx Epic .18 -- HPI nitro RS4 -- 2 Mini-T\'s -- RC18T
    Lightning buggy Hyper21------ Northwind sailboat

  13. #63
    fishy2k8's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Avon, IN
    Posts
    829
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Northwind 36

    hey bobslr... i need a favor... since you didnt use the radio set up that came with your northwind, if you wouldnt mind mailing me the little silver servo links that came with it. thanks a million...

    please respond and i will give you my address if you will send them.

    fishy
    Chris -Dumas SkDaddle, Northwind 36, HPI MT2, Jae 12g

  14. #64
    schmism's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    STL, MO
    Posts
    587
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Northwind 36

    Couple of teasers.... note i didnt take much time to resize them, just crop hear and there so 56k warning







    pic3

    pic4

    pic5

    pic6

    pic7
    T-maxx Epic .18 -- HPI nitro RS4 -- 2 Mini-T\'s -- RC18T
    Lightning buggy Hyper21------ Northwind sailboat

  15. #65
    schmism's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    STL, MO
    Posts
    587
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Northwind 36

    I have a question about sail travel.

    obiously max would be all the way out sailing down wind with the boom 90deg to the centerline of the boat.

    but whats the min angle? 10deg off centerline of the boat? 15? 20?

    im wondering if i have enough travel in my sail servo. sometimes i wonder if i can haul the sails in far enough, but then again if they are running virutally parrell to the boat, they arnt going to catch any wind that will move the boat foraward anyway so theres little point in being able to haul them in all the way to virtually 0 deg.

    what say you?
    T-maxx Epic .18 -- HPI nitro RS4 -- 2 Mini-T\'s -- RC18T
    Lightning buggy Hyper21------ Northwind sailboat

  16. #66

    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Kitchener, ON, CANADA
    Posts
    124
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Northwind 36

    Hi
    I got this from a site on the internet but I don't remember where.
    Anyway they said that the end of your main sail boom should point at the rear corner of the hull
    and the end of the jib boom should point at the shroud chain plate.

    Bob

  17. #67

    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    surrey, BC, CANADA
    Posts
    3,754
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Northwind 36

    Cool to see this build thread..just started on mine yesterday

  18. #68

    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Kitchener, ON, CANADA
    Posts
    124
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Northwind 36

    Hi
    Keep us posted on your progress,this was my first sail boat and I'm having a
    lot of fun with it.
    Most of the time I have no idea what I'm doing but the lake where I've been sailing it
    is only two block's from my house so I'm getting a lot of practice not knowing what I'm doing .
    Bob

  19. #69

    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    surrey, BC, CANADA
    Posts
    3,754
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Northwind 36

    need help on page 7 parts I and K screw onto what?did the manual fail to show part "g" it seems to fit and makes sense..

  20. #70

    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Kitchener, ON, CANADA
    Posts
    124
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Northwind 36

    Hi
    Parts I and K screw into Part G (cleat mount).

    Bob

  21. #71

    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Broken Arrow, OK
    Posts
    16
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Northwind 36

    I just got my Northwind 36 yesterday. I had a Nirvana and I loved it. I gave it to my dad and got the Northwind so we could sail them at the lake and have match races. I'm saving up for a Seawind also. My debate is weather or not paint my Northwind. To be honest i'm afraid to paint it in a way because of the paint running. I would love to paint it to look like the boat Radiance in the movie "WIND" which is a dark blue with a red stripe on the upper waterline. Do you guys have any suggestions? I'd appreciate it.

  22. #72

    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    surrey, BC, CANADA
    Posts
    3,754
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Northwind 36

    I am close to rigging the boat.Honestly I have to say that the instructions are horrible.I have built many planes and cars before,but those messy pages are difficult to sift through.There are many many errors in the drawings and assembly steps,but I am slowly getting through it.She looks like a pretty sailboat and part all seem to be good.I do wish they printed both sides of the sail,looks a little cheap.I have read that it sails ok,so that will make up for the assembly I hope.
    Planing to run a Hitech 945 for the sail.just over a 100 oz torque at 4.8.Is that a good choice? Havent installed radio box as I am waiting for this servo and it is a little larger than standard,so some mods may have to be made.

  23. #73
    schmism's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    STL, MO
    Posts
    587
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Northwind 36

    i didnt find the rigging instructions toooooo bad. they werent super clear i but i was able to follow them. it didnt help that i kinda made up my own "control" route as i didnt like the way the stock routing went so i spent quite a few hrs scratching my head trying to figure out how *I* want to run it and what i could get my hands on for fittings.

    I really like the vission sails way of doing it, coming out of the radio box cover with a "through deck" fitting, but without ordering one off the internet i couldnt do that so .....

    I also used a 1/4 scale servo for a sail servo so that wouldnt fit in the standard servo box so i tossed that whole mess also.

    I HATED the stock arm that extends out over the radio cover with the loop in it. it thought it looked SO stupid. but with out that or the through deck fitting you need to come up with a loop. i chose to go with keychain ring suspended by 3 lines that ive seen used on a number of other boats.

    I found that a pair of hemostats are priceless for helping tie all the tiny nots in the rigging that are required.

    if you have any questions, feel free to ask.
    T-maxx Epic .18 -- HPI nitro RS4 -- 2 Mini-T\'s -- RC18T
    Lightning buggy Hyper21------ Northwind sailboat

  24. #74

    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    surrey, BC, CANADA
    Posts
    3,754
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Northwind 36

    Will do the rigging later on in the week.This is my first boat,so everything is new to me(and more confusing)
    I have built 56 airplanes,and the last few have had manuals from hell,but prior experience helped get over it,and improve the builds.I plan on getting another boat or two,and hopefully I will learn alot from the Northwind.

  25. #75
    fishy2k8's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Avon, IN
    Posts
    829
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Northwind 36

    does anyones servos ever go wacko? im sitting here working on my boat, trying to tune it all up, and my servos just go wacko. do you thing it would have anything to do with wireless internet or phones?
    Chris -Dumas SkDaddle, Northwind 36, HPI MT2, Jae 12g


Page 3 of 14 FirstFirst 1234513 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:06 AM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.