Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > RC Sailboats
Reload this Page >

Need recommendation for my 1st RC boat

Community
Search
Notices
RC Sailboats For all your r/c sailing needs, post here.

Need recommendation for my 1st RC boat

Search this Thread

Old 01-08-2009, 05:39 PM
sfbluestar

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need recommendation for my 1st RC boat

Hi,

I have some experience with sailboats but never played with an RC sailboat. I would like to buy my first one to play with.

A quick search yielded several potentially suitable models, ranging from University Club ($95) at the low end to Seawind ($270) at the higher end. I'm wondering if you can make a quick suggestion for a suitable 1st RC sailboat?

I'll be using it in salt water (a protected part of SF bay). Thanks.
Old 01-08-2009, 06:13 PM
Guiri

Default RE: Need recommendation for my 1st RC boat

https://secure.victor-model.com/Index.aspx
Both the V32 and Soling 1 m are well regarded and widely sailed in the US
Old 01-08-2009, 07:07 PM
hottrk51

My first real RC sailboat was and is a Soling ! Meter. I was the first in my club to build one. There are now 5 sailing on the pond. Mine's still the fastest!

[link=http://www.victor-model.com/]Victor Models[/link] will give you price and ordering details. The basic kit goes for around $150. Radio and winches extra at your LHS. A complete turnkey boat is About $400. The stock kit is a competitive racer and rules allow few mods, keeping cost down.

Check out; [link]http://www.amya.net/s1m.html[/link]; [link]http://www.solingonemeter.org/[/link]; [link]http://groups.yahoo.com/group/solingonemeter[/link]. Check the AMYA page for a club in the SF area that sails S1M's and talk to the skippers and join in case you want to race. The S1M is the largest class registered with AMYA. Victor has built thousands of kits. they are always ready to answer questions too.

No racing? The S1 M is a strong, reliable day sailor., easy to transport and inexpensive to repair.