Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

How to start ?

Like some of you guys, I'm a long time RC plane person who is becoming interested in RC sailing...and am interested in developing a group of like minded folks. Although I have some full scale sailing experience, I have zero experience with the RCl boats. But, some things are apparent: Our area has a couple small lakes that have good access and at least 3' depth at it's bulkheaded banks. Adequate parking. There is a fairly dependable 8 to 12 mph wind, average. Our local RC flying club has been in existance for 20+ years, so I am going to assume there is at least a minimum potential interest RC yacths. Our flying club generally has a membership of about thirty soles....seems safe to say that a half dozen (give or take) members in a sailing group is a reasonable guesstimate (?). BTW, the best launching site is visiable from a couple resturants which would increase exposure to potential enthusiast. I'm wondering if others have found success in related activities?

What boat to start with? I was given a complete set of plans/articles for the old Pea Pod and it strikes me that it would make an excellent starting point. I've read that it's simple to build, cheap to finish and rig...and sails fairly well as a trainer, while competitive against other Pea Pods. Small enough to be easily transported without being toy boat size. This sure seems to be a good starting point, but is there a boat that better fills the needs ??

Any comments or opinions you might have would be greatly appreciated as this effort is truely a "from scratch" kind of thing.

Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

RE: How to start ?