Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Thread: New Captain

Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

New Captain

Hello all,
    I am a newbie here and I would love to get into the hobby. I live in Columbia Md. and there are three nice lakes to go sailing at. I was wondering if this boat would be good enough to start out with just to learn to sail?
    SURMOUNT 800 RACING SAIL BOAT YACHT
    I am sure I can find a club and get some pointers on how it's done. Thanks for any help as I don't want to throw $200.00 dollars away on this boat if it is not worth it.
    Thanks again and I will need all of the help I can get.

Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

RE: New Captain

First, go to [link]http://www.theamya.org/[/link]. (American Model Yatch Assoc.) They will have all the info you need, even find a local club.

Never heard of a SURMOUNT 800 RACING SAIL BOAT YACHT, so I can't advise. But check the AMYA for locals and see what they are sailing. If you want to race, you should have what they have.

Don't say if you want to build or ready to sail. There are good boats either way. Again, cvheck AMYA first.
    Hope this helps

Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

Thanks for the advise. I have found a club near by and I will get with the members to gain a better understanding of what is needed before I purchase anything. Thanks again.

Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

Graeat idea! Welcome aboard!

Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

Thanks it should be fun

Welcome aboard!
    The SURMOUNT 800 is not a very good boat.
    The Thunder Tiger Victoria is a good starter boat.