Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > RC Sailboats
Reload this Page >

New Captain

Community
Search
Notices
RC Sailboats For all your r/c sailing needs, post here.

New Captain

Search this Thread

Old 01-31-2010, 04:12 PM
JLITZ3

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New Captain

Hello all,
I am a newbie here and I would love to get into the hobby. I live in Columbia Md. and there are three nice lakes to go sailing at. I was wondering if this boat would be good enough to start out with just to learn to sail?
SURMOUNT 800 RACING SAIL BOAT YACHT
I am sure I can find a club and get some pointers on how it's done. Thanks for any help as I don't want to throw $200.00 dollars away on this boat if it is not worth it.
Thanks again and I will need all of the help I can get.
Old 01-31-2010, 04:24 PM
hottrk51

Default RE: New Captain

First, go to [link]http://www.theamya.org/[/link]. (American Model Yatch Assoc.) They will have all the info you need, even find a local club.

Never heard of a SURMOUNT 800 RACING SAIL BOAT YACHT, so I can't advise. But check the AMYA for locals and see what they are sailing. If you want to race, you should have what they have.

Don't say if you want to build or ready to sail. There are good boats either way. Again, cvheck AMYA first.
Hope this helps
Old 01-31-2010, 04:38 PM
JLITZ3

Thanks for the advise. I have found a club near by and I will get with the members to gain a better understanding of what is needed before I purchase anything. Thanks again.
Old 01-31-2010, 05:19 PM
hottrk51

Graeat idea! Welcome aboard!
Old 01-31-2010, 05:31 PM
JLITZ3

Thanks it should be fun
Old 01-31-2010, 09:52 PM
DONS BOAT WORKS
My Feedback: (3)

Welcome aboard!
The SURMOUNT 800 is not a very good boat.
The Thunder Tiger Victoria is a good starter boat.
http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXKF85&P=0
Old 02-01-2010, 01:51 AM
larrykin

ORIGINAL: DONS BOAT WORKS

Welcome aboard!
The SURMOUNT 800 is not a very good boat.