RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   RC Sailboats (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/rc-sailboats-89/)
-   -   Good boat for a noobie (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/rc-sailboats-89/1955827-good-boat-noobie.html)

california_zephyr 07-02-2004 03:27 PM

Good boat for a noobie

Hey, I am thinking about getting a r/c sailboat. I have been looking mainly at the Kyosho Fairwind but I was wondering what your guys think is a nice solid boat that I should get, being that I am new at this. Also, what controller should I get? I am looking at the Futaba 2ER. Any help would be appreciated.

Dr.Weasel 07-02-2004 05:10 PM

RE: Good boat for a noobie

I'm a noobie too and i have been looking at the megatech nirvana pro racing kit and the towerhobbies sts 2-channel or the futaba 2vr attack 2-channel. I dont know if it any good though.
The Doc.

Larry Ludwig 07-02-2004 05:48 PM

It is probably the most asked question here on the site.... and the answer is always the same. Before you invest your hard earned samolians... go check out your local ponds and hobbyshops.. and AMYA.ORG and see if there are any clubs in your vicinity. Take advantage of the local knowlege and experience by sailing with the group. You may find a deal on a used boat that will get in you in and going faster and cheaper, and any problems you may incure will be easily handled by the guys that have been there before you.

Welcome to the hobby, one you are certain to enjoy for a long time. Your boat with minimal care will last more years than you might think, and when it is time to move on to a newer or bigger boat you will find that they hold their resale value quite nicely.

Good Luck and hope you find a group near you! Don't hesitate to ask questions here, there are plenty of people that are willing to help.

Dr.Weasel 07-03-2004 11:52 AM