Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Scale Aircraft
Reload this Page >

What weight of fiberglass cloth do you use?

Notices
RC Scale Aircraft Discuss rc scale aircraft here (for giant scale see category above)

What weight of fiberglass cloth do you use?

Old 06-13-2013, 11:14 AM
FlyerInOKC
My Feedback: (6)

Received 267 Likes on 234 Posts
Default What weight of fiberglass cloth do you use?

I am in the process of rounding up the materials to fiberglass a kit built Top Flite Cessna 182. This is my first time covering with fiberglass I normally use Oracote or Monokote and years ago I used Silkspan and dope. Having found all these lovely how to videos and articles this time I thought I should give fiberglass a try. I plan on using a water-base finishing resin I have already purchased. My wife can't stand epoxy fumes in the house and I prefer not to cover in a garage braking 90 degrees. Now comes the question of what weight of fiberglass cloth? I have seen 1/2 oz. and .20 oz cloth which would provide the smooth base for painting without a lot of added weight. The 182 has 1/16" balsa skin on the wings and is powered by a Super Tigre .75. So to all you fiberglass expert I say please enlighten me! Thank you!
Old 06-13-2013, 12:45 PM
wphilb
My Feedback: (10)

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: What weight of fiberglass cloth do you use?

.75 oz or .5 oz is fine, it's not for strength, just as a base for primer and paint. Some use heavier around wing center  or LG areas. 

Whit
Old 06-13-2013, 01:43 PM
Chad Veich
My Feedback: (60)

Received 25 Likes on 23 Posts

I generally use 1/2 oz on the tail surfaces and 1.2-1.5 oz on the rest of the airframe. In my experience the additional weight is negligible and the heavier cloth is easier to apply. Plus, I don't sand through it nearly as often during the finishing stages. My .02 cents of course.
Old 06-13-2013, 04:00 PM
vertical grimmace
My Feedback: (1)

Received 12 Likes on 11 Posts

ORIGINAL: Chad Veich