Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Scale Aircraft
Reload this Page >

Securing flying wires?

Notices
RC Scale Aircraft Discuss rc scale aircraft here (for giant scale see category above)

Securing flying wires?

Old 04-27-2016, 04:50 AM
jjscott

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I'm just an average sport builder without the skills to do a great scale model. I did start a Concept Fleet biplane some time ago with the intention of using scale flying wires. After a lot of looking on the various forums including RCScalebuilder it seemed there were only two options: The first was to use R/C available hardware and have it come out looking like R/C hardware was used. The advantage was easier field setup. The second was to build it as scale as possible so it looked like a scale airplane. The disadvantage was it has to be assembled like a real airplane.

I thought the only way to quicken the assembly was to hide the connections somewhere out of sight within the structure. The plan on the Fleet was to use a large (maybe 3") turnbuckle within the fuselage at lower wing level to pull the preassembled flying wires tight. The exterior visible rigging would be preset and to scale. The fuselage bracket would slide inward as the big turnbuckle was tightened. An over center "turnbuckle" as used on sailboat rigging would serve the same purpose.

While it sounded good to me, I never worked it out. I ended up screwing only sorta-scale brackets to the fuse and will have to tighten the turnbuckles and safety wire before flying. The Fleet used streamlined wire; mine rigging looks more like WWI; not even close to scale.