Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Scale Aircraft
Reload this Page >

New builder needs help with tail wheel retract

RC Scale Aircraft Discuss rc scale aircraft here (for giant scale see category above)

New builder needs help with tail wheel retract

Old 09-30-2017, 11:53 AM
Ipswichfan73

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Smile New builder needs help with tail wheel retract

Good Saturday to you all. I am a new r/c airplane builder currently working on a Top Flite .60 F4U Corsair. I have decided to take my time, ask lots of questions and install all the bells and whistles such as working flaps and retractable wheels. In for a penny, in for a pound. I need help with installing working doors for doors for the retractable tail wheel. I am installing the Robart 121 retractable tail wheel powered through an air cylinder. If anybody can help that would be great. Please remember that I am a first time builder and give simple. concise instructions. Pictures and/or videos would be great. Thank you in advance for your assistance.
Old 10-01-2017, 08:33 AM
bentwings

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback

Having built this sized model Corsairs some 40 years ago I'd say leave the gear doors alone. There is not much space to even get your fingers inside the mains and far less on the tail wheel. By all means use the main front door however. Even this will be a bit of a trick to work reliably. I'd study how the full size one works. Early ones had a leather hinge believe it or not.

If if this is your first excursion into scale warbirds I'd stick to basics and learn to fly this model. Fly the day lights out of it, learning the Corsair Blues as the original thread was called years ago. They will wing over on takeoff in a heartbeat and stall quickly on landings. Once you get by this they are fun to fly.