Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Scale Aircraft
Reload this Page >

New 20cc DHC-2 Beaver

Community
Search
Notices
RC Scale Aircraft Discuss rc scale aircraft here (for giant scale see category above)

New 20cc DHC-2 Beaver

Search this Thread

Old 05-22-2018, 07:31 AM
David Eichstedt
My Feedback: (17)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New 20cc DHC-2 Beaver

Here's a project I've been working on for the last 16 months or so. First flight was a couple weeks ago on Saturday May 5th, and I still have a buzz since it went so well!

A little background if you don't know me. I worked at Horizon until almost 3 years ago, leading the Air Category product development team with David Ribbe. Took some time off after that, did some unsuccessful job hunting, then decided to start my own kit company. This will be my first product, but realistically it's still several months out from the market as I get the production plans in order. Since I'm so far away from having kits available, this isn't really a commercial announcement, it's just an insight into what I'm working on.

I wanted to do a project with fairly broad appeal that wasn't a Cub or a Mustang. I also want to focus on sizes that already have a large install base of engines & electric motors, which to me appears to be 20cc at the smaller size and 60cc at the larger size.

So I started with the DHC-2 Beaver at 1/6.3 scale for 20cc. It works out to a 91.4" span, which qualifies it as a giant scale airplane. 904 sq. in., 12 lbs for this first prototype. E-flite Power 60 400Kv on 6S 5000, but the next will use a DLE-20.

I worked from the original factory blueprints, so it's 100% scale. Development took a bit longer as I was learning Fusion360, my CAD program, while designing the airplane at the same time. Working in 3D is pretty involved, but it lets you guarantee the parts fit properly, especially the plastic and fiberglass parts.