Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Scale Aircraft
Reload this Page >

USS Macon Zeppelin?

Community
Search
Notices
RC Scale Aircraft Discuss rc scale aircraft here (for giant scale see category above)

USS Macon Zeppelin?

Search this Thread

Old 01-13-2005, 03:39 AM
SteveTrofemuk

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default USS Macon Zeppelin?

Has anyone ever tried to build a scale zeppelin? I've been flying for around 15 years and when I first saw these airships, I thought it'd be really cool to model. At that time, the radios/servos/engines weren't small enough or light enough. Now, I think there might be a chance. Of course, the design phase would be accelerated if someone else has already done the preliminary work.

BTW, Here's a [link=http://www.lucidcafe.com/library/macon.html]link[/link] to a pretty good page describing these huge airships.
Old 01-13-2005, 10:11 AM
CoosBayLumber
My Feedback: (1)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: USS Macon Zeppelin?

Blimps are more popular as they can be folded up and placed into the trunk of your auto. Peck Polymers used to offer operating blimp kits for about 20 years, and now that has passed on to another western firm.

Their Akron/Macon kits are really blimps.

Wm.
Old 01-13-2005, 07:48 PM
SteveTrofemuk

Thanks for the info...
I was really thinking of a rigid ship--but further searching suggests size may be a major factor. Ah well. Maybe when I build my own RC airport...
Old 03-15-2005, 08:07 AM
mikeceleskey
My Feedback: (44)

I'm looking to do the same thing...I think it's possible. Size may be a problem..........what problem! I may have to be a trailblazer here since there doesn't seem to be much out there that anyone is doing. Considering a custom made gas bag with a rigid frame around it. Any thoughts?
Old 03-15-2005, 08:52 PM
fledermaus