Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

Covering Undercambered aerofoils?

Hello,

I am about ready to cover a Bleriot XI that I recently scratch built. However, covering the wings has got me questioning my sanity. How can I do it? I have no experience with silk and dope, nor any other means of applying covering that is not heat shrink. Does anybody have a link to a How-to, or can explain how?

Thanks!
    Dave N.

Airplanes look better with two wings.

Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

RE: Covering Undercambered aerofoils?

I covered my SE5a with antique coverite. My ribs were also undercambered. I put an additional coating of balsa rite (it's a heat activated glue sold by coverite) on the underside of the ribs to insure the covering would stay put. So far it has.
    You need to iron the covering onto each rib. Don't use a heat gun as this will pull the covering off the ribs. Just go slow and take your time and it'll work out for you.
    Here's a picture of the finished plane.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Db84948.jpg 
Views:	3 
Size:	65.4 KB 
ID:	538755  
    BobH.

Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

You can cover the bottom of the wing first, and use silk thread and rib stitch the covering to the ribs. Talk about scale!!!

Bill, AMa 4720
    WACO Brotherhood #1
    Its easy, just glue all the pieces together, and sand off everything that doesnt look like an airplane.

Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback