RC Scale Aircraft Discuss rc scale aircraft here (for giant scale see category above)

New: Beech Baron and Duchess arf

Reply
Old 03-26-2012, 06:43 PM
  #1151
tkapfer
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Sioux City, IA
Posts: 107
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New: Beech Baron and Duchess arf

Does it make sense to mount the esc's in the nose of the plane like some others have done and lengthen the motor lines?
I'm not sure how much cooling they will get up there especially with the retracts being closed.

Just a thought.


Also I think we need to get csclark990 to make us some updates for the Eflite nose gear.


Thanks
tkapfer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 06:48 PM
  #1152
rgaynor
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 496
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New: Beech Baron and Duchess arf

I would not mount them in the nose as there is very little air flow. I would also recommend using 10g wire given the wire length needed.
rgaynor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 03:55 AM
  #1153
dbateman
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Clarksboro, NJ
Posts: 491
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New: Beech Baron and Duchess arf

You can buy plug in capacitors (deans) and install right at the esc battery connection in each nacelle. There are several available now, but i always use Tamjets. You could make up yourself with a little work, to save some money.
dbateman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 06:35 AM
  #1154
rgaynor
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 496
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New: Beech Baron and Duchess arf

Castle Creations actually sells them on their web site. That said, they are easy to make up yourself.
rgaynor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2012, 12:29 PM
  #1155
viper1676
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: West Warwick, RI
Posts: 112
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New: Beech Baron and Duchess arf

Hey Guys. Got a question about the light kit. It comes with this nice little brain that has all the lights plugged in to it. It only has one single lead coming out to hook up the battery. My kit didn;t come with any switches as stated on the website., and when I connect a battery to the the lead...all lights come on except for the taxi lights and landing lights. Anyone know hwo to get these on? The website says it needs a channel, but where do I plug it in? There's only one wire for battery in. I'm confused. Can anyone give some insight!

Thanks!
viper1676 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2012, 05:13 AM
  #1156
tkapfer
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Sioux City, IA
Posts: 107
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New: Beech Baron and Duchess arf

How about a question about the interior cockpit? I think all the parts are in my kit as far as seats and dash and door panels, but watching some build videos I noticed some had upper side panels that looked like they went around the roof area and down around the windows. Is that a change to the kit I have, or do I need to just paint the inside areas? Mine are covered in a light black overspray maybe from manufacturing.

Also how do you assemble all the seats? Do they interlock so you can glue them together or do the edges glue? The edges seem like they might not glue together very well. I have never built a cockpit before. Can it be assembled and painted PRIOR to inserting in the fuselage? Do you need to rough sand all of it first so the paint will stick?

Did most of you just use micro metal gear servos to keep weight down? It doesn't look like much torque is required. Hitec/JR?

I had also left Cliff an message that my tail hatch was cracked and I was also missing the antenna for the roof, but had not heard back from him lately.

Thanks,
Terry
tkapfer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2012, 05:21 AM
  #1157
tkapfer
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Sioux City, IA
Posts: 107
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New: Beech Baron and Duchess arf

Mine came with a plug and 2 small switches. When plugged in, 1 switch turned on the landing lights and the other switch turned on the rest of the lights.

I'm not sure though if the extensions will all be long enough to fit the various parts of the plane, but have not actually started my build yet. I have been reading this and other threads over and over to determine what all equipment to buy. The parts about overheating long battery lines and ESC's bothered me. Was almost considering glow engines, but had gotten rid of glow a couple years ago. I only have gas and electric now. A lot less mess.
tkapfer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2012, 06:13 AM
  #1158
viper1676
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: West Warwick, RI
Posts: 112
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New: Beech Baron and Duchess arf

Hey Tcapfer,

In regards to the interior, there should be a big plastic panel that go on the ceiling. The sides are a buit smaller and have cut outs for the windows. For the seats, what I did was slide them in to each other. I'll grab a couple of photo's when I can and post them. If you look at some of the interior pictures other people have posted, you can see how they go together. They are not edge to edge though.
viper1676 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2012, 06:22 AM
  #1159
viper1676
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: West Warwick, RI
Posts: 112
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New: Beech Baron and Duchess arf

Here is the light kit that I have. I have contacted Rcaerodyne and spoken with Robert. He told me that the website description had to be changed and the lights don't come with the switches anymore. As you can see, there is only 1 lead coming out of the module and he told me to plug that in to a channel on my radio. When I do this, all lights come on with the exception of the landing and taxi lights. I was told the lights needed to be put on a switch on the radio to get the landing and taxi lights to come on. I've tried that and still they won't come on. Anyone else have these lights and been able to get them to work? I'm going to put them on a regular switch and they're own battery and then plug to the radio. I'm not to keen about putting the lights on all the time and running off my receiver battery. I can land a plane without lights, not so much without controls if they kill the battery.

I'm using a n Airtronics SD10g for my radio if anyone knows how to program for the lights.

Thanks
Dave
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Xu62447.jpg
Views:	29
Size:	102.1 KB
ID:	1744941  
viper1676 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2012, 06:24 AM
  #1160
viper1676
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: West Warwick, RI
Posts: 112
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New: Beech Baron and Duchess arf

Here's a pick of my interior and how I put together the seats.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Ig12054.jpg
Views:	33
Size:	74.7 KB
ID:	1744942  
viper1676 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2012, 06:41 AM
  #1161
tkapfer
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Sioux City, IA
Posts: 107
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New: Beech Baron and Duchess arf

Did you cut them out on the line that seems to go around the plastic? Or did you cut them out wider and let the plastic overlap so the pieces would glue together?

Did you finish the cockpit and then install in the plane?
tkapfer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2012, 07:05 AM
  #1162
viper1676
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: West Warwick, RI
Posts: 112
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New: Beech Baron and Duchess arf

I cut them out on the lines. For the seat cusions, you just need to cut a slice in the back corners so you there is a slot for them to slide over the base. I haven't installed it yet. Just have a little fine tuning on them like sanding and then painting. I want to have all the electronics in and wired first before putting in the interior. This way I can run things as needed and hide wires if necessary. Interior will probably be the last thing I install.
viper1676 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2012, 06:47 PM
  #1163
viper1676
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: West Warwick, RI
Posts: 112
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New: Beech Baron and Duchess arf

Figured out the lights. It was all in the programming on the radio. Not sure how I'm going to put this on a switch now though. I really wanted these to be on their own battery. Anyone see anyway I can still do this?

Thanks
Dave
viper1676 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2012, 07:21 PM
  #1164
Pilot P51
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Corpus Christi, TX
Posts: 190
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New: Beech Baron and Duchess arf

viper1676
install the second battery, use a y coming off your landing gear and plug the light into the other side. WHen you hit the gear switch for the landing gear to come down the landing lights will come on. I have two planes set up this way and it works great.

Walt
Pilot P51 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2012, 07:25 PM
  #1165
rgaynor
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 496
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New: Beech Baron and Duchess arf

Dave, you can still hook up a switch and control it with a separate servo. Another solution is to use an in-line electronic switch that hooks into you light plug on one end and connects into an open channel on the reciever on the other end. Good luck
rgaynor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2012, 07:38 PM
  #1166
rgaynor
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 496
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New: Beech Baron and Duchess arf

I flew my Baron today with the new electric e-flite retracts and struts that were stiffened with thicker springs. What a great flying plane! She flies very scale and stable. While you have to fly her in on the landings, she tracks very well and glads in. Great day out at the fields!!
rgaynor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2012, 12:51 PM
  #1167
tkapfer
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Sioux City, IA
Posts: 107
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New: Beech Baron and Duchess arf

Here is what I was talking about for inside cabin parts. They must have changed these as I don't have those 2 parts.

Attached Images
 
tkapfer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2012, 04:18 PM
  #1168
tkapfer
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Sioux City, IA
Posts: 107
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New: Beech Baron and Duchess arf

Pictures of my oleo struts.

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Ay74556.jpg
Views:	26
Size:	48.3 KB
ID:	1749828   Click image for larger version

Name:	Yt60615.jpg
Views:	27
Size:	49.2 KB
ID:	1749829  
tkapfer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2012, 01:30 PM
  #1169
rcdaddy76
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: , CA
Posts: 3
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New: Beech Baron and Duchess arf

Have any one use LADO or electron retracts for rc aerodyne BARON?
rcdaddy76 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2012, 04:49 PM
  #1170
rgaynor
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 496
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New: Beech Baron and Duchess arf

I am using the E-Flite retracts which work great on the Baron. I put heavier springs in the struts to support my 17 lb plane.
rgaynor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2012, 10:40 PM
  #1171
rcdaddy76
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: , CA
Posts: 3
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New: Beech Baron and Duchess arf

Thanks Rgaynor...I am tired of cheap Chinese products.  I got air leak from cheap Chinese T-fitting,  air leak from plastic air valve (2) total, and now I found out couple days ago air leak from the cylinder of nose gear!!!
rcdaddy76 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2012, 05:49 PM
  #1172
viper1676
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: West Warwick, RI
Posts: 112
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New: Beech Baron and Duchess arf

Ok, she's coming along nicely. Wings are done and all mounted. Did the mod on the aileron rods so they don't slide in. Question I have. For the lights, where did you guys mount the module? I can't fit it in the wing as I went with the 2 ail, 2 flaps in the center, so no room. Trying to figure out how I would go about with the wiring and such if I put it in the fuse. Obviously when I take the wings apart, the wires for the wing tip lights need to be plugged in each time.

Thanks
Dave
viper1676 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 08:00 PM
  #1173
rcdaddy76
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: , CA
Posts: 3
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New: Beech Baron and Duchess arf

Wow!!! I didn't think Rc-aerodyne will give me a nose gear replacement but they did. That was incredible customer service..
rcdaddy76 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2012, 08:38 AM
  #1174
dbateman
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Clarksboro, NJ
Posts: 491
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New: Beech Baron and Duchess arf

I may put mine up for sale. New in box, with 3 blade props, spinners, hacker motors, esc's, retracts (air),scale struts. No work done except motor mounts and hackers are assembled. Just inspected and admired, but would be tight fit in my Kia Soul. Seeing if there is interest. Will give good deal.
dbateman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 04:56 AM
  #1175
autotecart
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 58
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New: Beech Baron and Duchess arf

whats the news on the king air how far off are they from getting it to market?
autotecart is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:34 PM.