Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Scale Aircraft
Reload this Page >

Aren't plans copyrighted

Community
Search
Notices
RC Scale Aircraft Discuss rc scale aircraft here (for giant scale see category above)

Aren't plans copyrighted

Search this Thread

Old 03-30-2009, 07:52 AM
Mode One

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Aren't plans copyrighted

I have done some thinking about the above question. I think it would be safest to assume that plans and drawings are copyrighted! From 1997 to 2005 I was a Marine Surveyor (a recreational vessel inspector). Buyers, owners, sellers and insurance companies would hire me to inspect a boat for them. This request for survey may be done pre-sale, pre-buy, to procure insurance or to inspect damage and estimate the cost of repairs. The purpose of the inspection was to gather information on the condition and value of the vessel in question and to report that information in a marine survey report. So, the product I produced was a report document. The report was for the benefit of the buyer of the report, alone.

Previous to agreeing to do the Marine Survey, the purchaser was required to sign a document which outlined what I would and would not do and what I was responsible for. Also a part of this agreement was the understanding the report could not be passed on to anyone else.

On a few occasions, I determined that the reports had indeed been sold to someone else. Although I never pursued litigation over this, I felt it was completely unfair to me, as I had lost another opportunity to make a sale from my hard work and it also exposed me to liability from which I had not made one red cent!!!!

The Plans many of you are buying second hand off of Ebay; or, here on RCU; or, other sales locations, fit into what I would term copyrighted or proprietary information. I think it is unfair to the originator of this work product and should not be done with out
their consent!