Notices
RC Scale Aircraft Discuss rc scale aircraft here (for giant scale see category above)

Great Planes 120 Gee Bee

Old 11-17-2009, 10:14 AM
  #1  
superchargedill
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Collinsville, OK
Posts: 26
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Great Planes 120 Gee Bee

Hi Guys,

Newbie here. I have had a 120 size Gee Bee hanging up in my shop for some time now. Fortunately I've been able to fly quite a bit this year and have come leaps and bounds flying a Frenzy and a Twist and recently added a RV 8 and a Cub 40 to start teaching my boy. I've watched all of the vids on youtube and know she can be a handfull on landing so I'm prepared.

Hasanyone here flown one orcurrently flying one and what engine did you use ? I'd like to run a big prop just beacause of the huge cowl. I have a SuperTiger 140 with a pitts muffler so I was considering that. Plus it should haul ***** with that engine. Or is there a better selection ? Which 4 stroke would make this baby sing ? Thanks Dil
superchargedill is offline  
Old 11-17-2009, 10:28 AM
  #2  
gadix
My Feedback: (2)
 
gadix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: ModiiIn, ISRAEL
Posts: 959
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Great Planes 120 Gee Bee

i use a G26

usually when the cowl is so big it is better to get the prop further from the cowl - this way the "poitch" is more effective and you get the real effectivness form the prop - hence - this scale and u dont want to make ugly by doing that, so u should try and find the proper way you want to do that

140 GS is good depending on the weight of the model!!!
gadix is offline  
Old 11-23-2009, 09:36 AM
  #3  
crash080
 
crash080's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Fort Collins, CO
Posts: 73
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Great Planes 120 Gee Bee

I flew mine with a Saito 1.50 which hauled it around very well. Landings were a whole nother story though. Whatever you do keep your engine weight below the weight of the recommended OS 1.20 and carry the absolute minimum of fuel. My Gee Bee is now a hangar decoration due to the many issues that are covered here in the forums. Flew great, knife edge all day long but landing is very difficult and eventually the gear blocks failed. Good luck.
crash080 is offline  
Old 11-23-2009, 11:29 AM
  #4  
jaka
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Upplands Vasby, SWEDEN
Posts: 7,801
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Great Planes 120 Gee Bee

Hi!
Have had one since 6 years. Have been flying for 35 years. Been into pylon racing for 30 years.
The most important thing to remember with the GP GEE BEE R-2 is to keep it light, mine weights exactly 5kg (5000g).
I use a MVVS .91 two stroke in mine , swinging a 15x4 W APC, using a 500cc (16oz) Tettra "Bubblesstank" . Performance with a 15cc two stroke is like a pattern airplane! Big round loops and knife edge without problem.
Takes offs are very easy and it flies good, doing maneuvers well but landings are another story! Very demanding.

So choose the lightest engine /silencer combination possible and do everything to keep the weight down. I use wires both on the elevator and side rudder and have taken up lightening holes in the rear part of the fuselage and moved the servos and receiver 10cm forward against the firewall to obtain the correct Cof G without using any lead weight!



Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Lj23637.jpg
Views:	45
Size:	57.5 KB
ID:	1319158   Click image for larger version

Name:	Gc91379.jpg
Views:	34
Size:	51.2 KB
ID:	1319159   Click image for larger version

Name:	Rw59171.jpg
Views:	42
Size:	62.1 KB
ID:	1319160   Click image for larger version

Name:	Dw65381.jpg
Views:	40
Size:	38.2 KB
ID:	1319161   Click image for larger version

Name:	Yw68529.jpg
Views:	43
Size:	39.5 KB
ID:	1319162   Click image for larger version

Name:	Je99456.jpg
Views:	36
Size:	41.3 KB
ID:	1319163   Click image for larger version

Name:	Af88627.jpg
Views:	42
Size:	45.9 KB
ID:	1319164  
jaka is offline  
Old 12-05-2009, 01:46 AM
  #5  
pencon
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Abbotsford, BC, CANADA
Posts: 217
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Great Planes 120 Gee Bee

Do you have a great planes gee bee r2 or a CMP/raidentech version ? Mine's the Cmp Version 71" span. I'm using a YS 120 sc which powers it fairly well Here's a you tube vid in Mission BC Canada http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HKtwUUL0QBk If anyone reading this post is selling a Gee Bee r2 cowl let me know. I stalled my plane into a deep slough and lost the cowl. The plane flew great , I just got too cocky flying it super slow around a hairpin turn .The 71 " span flies like a trainer .
pencon is offline  
Old 12-30-2009, 10:05 AM
  #6  
slayedrc9021
Junior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: san jacinto, CA
Posts: 5
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Great Planes 120 Gee Bee

Just bought an Aero Model Designs Gee Bee 1.20.
Setup I am going to put in it:
Saito 1.80
JR 8231 on the controls
Basic digital servo on throttle.
Hope this combo works.
slayedrc9021 is offline  
Old 03-05-2010, 12:32 PM
  #7  
frankbma13
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Hebron, KY
Posts: 3
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Great Planes 120 Gee Bee

Hey guys. I just got a damaged Gee Bee that is the China Model Products version. (Same as the Great Planes). I need wheel pants and don't want to pay $60.00 for the Great Planes Pants. Does anybody know someone who makes these? Or has some they want to sell? Thanks in advance.

Kyle C.
frankbma13 is offline  
Old 03-05-2010, 05:40 PM
  #8  
pencon
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Abbotsford, BC, CANADA
Posts: 217
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Great Planes 120 Gee Bee

If one of the wheel pants is ok , you can always make a mold with it and then make you own wheel pants out of fiberglass
pencon is offline  
Old 03-05-2010, 06:56 PM
  #9  
frankbma13
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Hebron, KY
Posts: 3
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Great Planes 120 Gee Bee

Unfortunatelly, the were both toast in the crash. I don't know anyone else that has a gee bee in the right size to mold from.
frankbma13 is offline  
Old 10-21-2011, 12:12 AM
  #10  
frequent flyer
My Feedback: (6)
 
frequent flyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Grand Junction, Colorado
Posts: 1,457
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Great Planes 120 Gee Bee

I know this is a very old thread but I am making molds of the cowl, wheel pants and the Fusealge. Also cutting foam cores for the wing and stab.
frequent flyer is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.