Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > RC Scale Boating
Reload this Page >

power suggestions

Community
Search
Notices
RC Scale Boating Enjoy rc scale boating? Talk about it here.

power suggestions

Search this Thread

Old 04-01-2004, 10:10 PM
x-craft
My Feedback: (3)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default power suggestions

I'm new to scale warships and I'm wondering about just what should be good for power. I 'm building the deans marine narvik class destroyer. It's 52" long with a 5" beam. I'm sure this hull should move very easy through the water. Loyalhanna sells their #1 motor which is 1.5" long and 1.1" diamater. I'm just guessing but it sounds like that may be equal to about a 280. The destroyer is a twin screw. Are a pair of these motors good propulsion for a boat like this? Any input would be greatly appreciated.

thanks to all
Tim
Old 04-01-2004, 11:11 PM
LtDoc

Default RE: power suggestions

x-craft,
I would guess that it depends on just how 'scale' you want to make it. I'm not familiar with the motor you described but a pair of them ought to produce at least scale speed. If you can keep your 'foot off the throttle', maybe a pair of 380's?
- 'Doc
Old 04-02-2004, 06:24 AM
x-craft

Thanks doc, I do want scale like speed. A destroyer on plane just doesn't seem right but I don't want it underpowered either. I plan to make a removable adjustable mount for the motors so if necessary I can put in a couple bigger motors easily. I'm going with direct drive, gearing just seems like a waste and I dont want the howl of gears. any comments about that?

Thanks again
x-craft
Old 04-02-2004, 10:26 AM
LtDoc

x-craft,
About gearing. There are some cases where the noise of a geared drive system make the model more realistic. Some destroyers had turbine engines so the 'gear noise' might even be 'better'.