Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > RC Scale Boating
Reload this Page >

African Queen

Community
Search
Notices
RC Scale Boating Enjoy rc scale boating? Talk about it here.

African Queen

Search this Thread

Old 11-22-2004, 08:41 PM
ALDOAVME

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default African Queen

Thinking of building this kit from billing boats. just curious if anyone has built one of there kits or even this one? i would like to use a live steam engine on it i hace seen then for sale i think it would be a perfect fit im sure its been done. does anyone have/use/ a steam engine? and what are your thoughts on them thanks in advance!
Old 11-23-2004, 09:59 AM
LtDoc

Default RE: African Queen

ALDOAVME,
I have no 'hands on' experience with the 'AfricanQueen' so take this as hear-say, and for what it's worth. From what I understand and have heard, the 'A.Q.' isn't a beginner's boat, it takes some learned skills to build it correctly. As with almost all of 'Billing's kits, the supplied wood could be 'better'. It isn't totally bad, but certainly not the most 'select' quality (if there really is such a thing!). Having said that, it's sure a nice boat though, and one that most people will recognize!
Steam...
One of these days, I'm gonna try that! But I think it may be awhile (lol). Most people/modelers have little, or no experience with steam. There's a lot to learn about how a steam engine works, especially the safety part of it. Educating yourself is the first step, and a necessary one! It's just too expensive to learn the 'hard way' (not to mention dangerous, even the small engines). Again, having said all that, my 'next' boat ~was~ going to be one with a steam engine. (But, my modeling 'addiction' got the best of me before I could decide which one I wanted to try, so I've started another electric model.) My next 'next' model will be steam...
Good luck, and hope this may have helped.
- 'Doc
Old 11-23-2004, 10:25 AM
ALDOAVME