Notices
RC Submarines RC submarine discussions.

Problem with the TT neptune

Search this Thread

Old 01-11-2009, 09:33 PM
kielbasa

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Problem with the TT neptune

Well, I got my sub earlier this week,and like a kid at X-mas, I got it out of the box, and charged the batteries. first, I wold like to sa that it truly looks fantastic. I read somewhere else that this is a glorified toy, but I have to disagree. It is a really nicely built, and well engineered bit of kit. It is a treat.

I was able to meet with a few other bubbleheads today in Shrewsbury Pa at the YMCA pool and run it a bit. I had some problems. I have plenty of experience in RC sub, and RC in general, so I am not a newb who does not know what a Flux-Capacitor or liquid filled motor mounts are for. I know about the ball bearings.... everything is ball bearings these days.

when bench testing the boat, I noticed that it would turn on, and go into fail-safe mode. I have control over the throttle, and the planes/rudder, but no control over the ballast, it is constantly running, like a poorly tuned harley, trying to empty the ballast (i am not worried about the sound, that is normal, just that it is always doing it...) After doing a hard reset, the sub has ballast control for about a minute, and then goes into fail safe, with the green LED solid (ballast emptying) and a blinking red LED, indicating water in the hull, a bad signal from the Tx or a low RX battery.

I feel like all three are invalid,
I have no water in the sub, I ran it with out the shell on, so I could clearly see the LED's and the ballast bag filling/emptying. I was only able to fill it once in the water, before going into fail-safe. I also was able to quickly get the boat out of the water, and look through the cylinder to verify no water intrusion.