Notices
RC Submarines RC submarine discussions.

Rocket Tubing Sub

Search this Thread

Old 05-24-2008, 09:29 PM
drivedog

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Rocket Tubing Sub

Wow how cool I just stumbled on this sub site and want to build a sub !!!
Being a rocket builder I have nose cones and tubes laying around.
Here is a picture of a 2.250" tube with a ogive nose cone on one end and a conical on the other.
My question is could something like this work ??? I have the same setup in 4.000" tubing but was to big to take a picture.
I have a lathe and all the parts (almost) to complete a sub build
Thanks in advance !!!

My last project went mach 3.1 until there was a glitch
http://www.rockethigh.com
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Tr49925.jpg
Views:	16
Size:	16.2 KB
ID:	956035  
Old 05-24-2008, 11:10 PM
CrunchyFrog

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Rocket Tubing Sub

I don't see why not...2.25 inches isn't a lot of inside diameter to work with for your watertight compartment, though do-able (my homebuild has a 2-inch inside diameter watertight cylinder, inside an SSN-21 Seawolf 1-144 scale outer hull that serves as something nicer to look at than PVC).

What kind of sub do you have almost all the parts to build ?

Lathes are nice tools to have in RC subs, I can only envy !
Old 05-24-2008, 11:33 PM
drivedog

I have no idea what I am doing !!! But I have lots of rc parts, tubes and stuff. Was thinking of a torpedo instead of sub ????
What kind of power are you sub guys using ??? Lipo ??? Brushless ???
Has anyone tried co2 powering a co2 motor ??? I would like to use H2o2 with a catalyst pac and co2 motor (the rocket guy in me)
Also what kind of depth and speed are some of the subs achieving ???
Thanks again
Old 05-25-2008, 12:23 AM
CrunchyFrog

Received 1 Like on 1 Post