Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Cars, Buggies, Trucks, Tanks and more > RC Tanks
Reload this Page >

Up engineering a HL tiger 1

Community
Search
Notices
RC Tanks Discuss all aspects of rc tank building and driving here!

Up engineering a HL tiger 1

Search this Thread

Old 08-23-2011, 08:16 AM
ploppy

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Up engineering a HL tiger 1

I've been a bit of a lurker for a while and as my first post i've got a question.

After cracking the HL tiger S&S and getting a look at the insides, as an engineer I dispared at the state of the gearboxes
badly formed gear cogs, moving bushes and wobbly shafts and so to work.
took them apart repeen'd the bushes cleaned up the cogs put back together and run in using the method shown in the stickies
thanks guys.
couldn't fix the wobbly shafts however.
still not happy!

Having splashed out on an asiatam lower hull, from welsh dragon models (top service) i've decided to invest in new gearboxes!
my question.
which are the best out there?
Old 08-23-2011, 10:05 AM
YHR

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default RE: Up engineering a HL tiger 1

The new Mato gear boxes are worth a look. They redesigned them in a break away housing, and they seem pretty good. They also have a nice metal mounting plate wth machine screws that attach to the Tiger hull. I have a set I am going to fit in a Sherman

One thing I am finding out about Mato, is that they are listening and constanly improving the products. These upgrade gears are an example of them listening to complaints , and doing something about it.
Old 08-23-2011, 10:10 AM
AFV432

hi ploppy
welcome aboard

there are quite a few to choose from with varying qualities and issues alike (bit of a minefield)

my asiatam hulled tiger i have the asiatam gearboxes better than h/long ones but a smaller motor still loads of torque and low end speed infact my T34 also has them

if you want good reliable boxes these are my favs but tamiya gearboxes for the Tiger are Good as well