RC Tanks Discuss all aspects of rc tank building and driving here!

Clark electronics TK20

Reply
Old 01-07-2013, 04:39 PM
  #426
mustclime
 
mustclime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: westwood, NJ
Posts: 1,348
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Clark electronics TK20


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Love To build

I found the HL connectors at Digikey. They are called XH connectors. Heres the link to the 3 pin http://www.digikey.com/scripts/DKSea...31602275723260. It took a while to ID it
Not really what i am looking for.....cn2 is a henglong style 5 pin and thej1 is a very small 2pin(smaller than both hl and tamiya)....nether fit the tamiya apple or ir light plugs.....you guys are running these boards, where are you getting the plugs to run the IR stuff??
mustclime is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 05:18 PM
  #427
Love To build
 
Love To build's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Edison, NJ
Posts: 326
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Clark electronics TK20

If you are looking for a Tamiya keyed base at http://www.clark-model.com/eng/index_e.html has a kit. The black connector in the center is this connector Digikey part number 2563S-05-ND. I use a 2 pin version for LED plugs Digikey part number 2563S-02-ND


Bill

PS When I get my Tamiya I'll locate the connectors and post here also.
Love To build is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 09:29 PM
  #428
FreakyDude
 
FreakyDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: barrie, ON, CANADA
Posts: 1,047
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Clark electronics TK20

Shortly I will have stock on the plugs for those little wee wee tiny things. small helicopters use them for power cables etc
Quote:
ORIGINAL: mustclime


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Love To build

I found the HL connectors at Digikey. They are called XH connectors. Heres the link to the 3 pin http://www.digikey.com/scripts/DKSea...31602275723260. It took a while to ID it
Not really what i am looking for.....cn2 is a henglong style 5 pin and thej1 is a very small 2pin(smaller than both hl and tamiya)....nether fit the tamiya apple or ir light plugs.....you guys are running these boards, where are you getting the plugs to run the IR stuff??
FreakyDude is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 05:32 AM
  #429
mustclime
 
mustclime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: westwood, NJ
Posts: 1,348
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Clark electronics TK20


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Love To build

If you are looking for a Tamiya keyed base at http://www.clark-model.com/eng/index_e.html has a kit. The black connector in the center is this connector Digikey part number 2563S-05-ND. I use a 2 pin version for LED plugs Digikey part number 2563S-02-ND


Bill

PS When I get my Tamiya I'll locate the connectors and post here also.
sadly, I can not get on the clark site so any links to them are useless. I will lookup the digikey parts, do they include the wire ends than fit into the plugs?.....freaky, you get them, let me know,at this pointI am looking at making them out of styreen...I think I can pull a hl style 5 pin from my parts bin from running the hl flash upgradein cn3 but the j1 connector is a clark fail imo, it dosn't match hl or tamiya so what the heck is it like that for?
mustclime is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 05:49 AM
  #430
mustclime
 
mustclime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: westwood, NJ
Posts: 1,348
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Clark electronics TK20

here are a couple pics....here is the tamiya battle unit that you are supose to plug into the calark board....



here are the plugs next to the places where you are supose to plug them in....



as for the digikey part numbers from lovetobuild.....have you looked at those pages? The pics are not even close, and then you need to pick a whole bunch of other info that I do not know to even order. I am just a dumb model guy,all the other stuff I am at a loss.
mustclime is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 06:13 AM
  #431
tomhugill
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 1,915
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Clark electronics TK20

Scott do you have any HL 5 pin plugs knocking about? Your going to have to change the plugs on the tbu base and wire them per the diagram in the instructions. Try the rctankregiment lads as most of them have done this, esp 971wright and brel
tomhugill is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 06:20 AM
  #432
YHR
 
YHR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Grande Prairie, AB, CANADA
Posts: 8,968
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Clark electronics TK20

You will need to lose the Tamiya wiring harness and mount.

Clark sells a wiring harnesses and mounts that will plug into this board. I have a similiar thing for sale as well as they are exactly the same as what I use on a DBC3.





I am not a big fan of those micro plugs either. Hard to find
YHR is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 06:26 AM
  #433
Rebellion13
 
Rebellion13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: New Tripoli, PA
Posts: 1,692
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Clark electronics TK20

Mustclime it is a shame you can't get on the clark site, the base he sells has a cable with it that plugs into the board and all you use is the tamiya apple, then there would be no need to alter your existing tamiya base.

Cheers
Wade
Rebellion13 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 10:47 AM
  #434
mustclime
 
mustclime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: westwood, NJ
Posts: 1,348
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Clark electronics TK20


Quote:
ORIGINAL: YHR

You will need to lose the Tamiya wiring harness and mount.

Clark sells a wiring harnesses and mounts that will plug into this board. I have a similiar thing for sale as well as they are exactly the same as what I use on a DBC3.





I am not a big fan of those micro plugs either. Hard to find
If this is the case......well I guess the cost of the "clark battlesystem" just went up...
mustclime is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 11:13 AM
  #435
Rebellion13
 
Rebellion13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: New Tripoli, PA
Posts: 1,692
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Clark electronics TK20

True but, it's only $7 for the base and cable. I think in my opinion, clark should have an option where you could order everything in one package instead of an ala carte. If you have all the cables and such you still have the option to do so. But it would be nice to have a package with the board, apple base, ir, flash, remote all in one option.

Cheers
Wade
Rebellion13 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 12:42 PM
  #436
mustclime
 
mustclime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: westwood, NJ
Posts: 1,348
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Clark electronics TK20

Ether way I am left holding the bag as it were. To make matters worse, I can not get onto their site to order the parts they neglected to inform me that I would need to make this whole mess work. If a vender did something like this to me when I was racing cars, I would have pulled their parts off my car and told everyonethat would lissen to not deal with them. Sorry if Iam comming across a little harshbut the list of "gee didn't you know's" keeps getting longer....what do I mean?

1) gee, didn't you know that the henglongmotors would just stop ifwe reduced power to simulate battle damage.....so even though we called the system tamiya compatable we took this option out of our first run of boards.
2) gee, didn't you know the heng long ir bulbs are junkso we put aresister on the board so you wouldn't blow them.....sorry to tell you that unless you soder over it your tank will have no range...guess we didn't tell anyone till people complained.....

and now...3) gee, didn'tyou know that unless you buy our tamiya apple mountand wirewith the connectors for the IR bulb....you are going to have to look all over the place to find the connectors and pins....good luck with that.....

Spent all this time making thethe mount for the servo for "the real recoil" and Ijust want to trash it andgo with tamiya guts.....



what a waste of time....
mustclime is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 02:26 PM
  #437
YHR
 
YHR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Grande Prairie, AB, CANADA
Posts: 8,968
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Clark electronics TK20

Yes I can understand how it feels. For a retailer it is a fine line to walk. 50% of the people want an all inclusive package and the other 50% want individual prices on everything.

The roll out of these was less then smooth, but the issues are really water under the bridge now as we have moved passed this. I packaged up both my Clark Boards and sent them back today to take advantage of Clarks upgrade to the lastest and greatest version wiht all the fixes. So I know exactly how you feel as I had these mounted in tanks, and had to rip them out to send them back. A big inconvenience. However I have not lost sight of the fact these are $80 boards.

The only other issue that was a concern was the fact the Clark board would not accept hits from Tamiya LEO's. I am not sure where that ended up. I think this was also fixed, but I am not sure. Maybe Freaky can comment on this.

Freaky looks like he is taking on these Clark boards, so in the near future all these concerns should be addressed by having a local reseller whose primary interest is his customer.

In all honesty though Clark has been good about getting back to me on stuff, and I have no complaints about the communication once we understood each other.

Typically the old addage about not being the first to the table is very true in this case. The next boards that are to be built in February will probably be the ones worth waiting for.

I can help you out with a mount and cable if you want one. I have them in stock, Just PM me.

Cheers

Dan
YHR is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 06:53 PM
  #438
tomhugill
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 1,915
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Clark electronics TK20

Well Scott I have to say I sympathise with a lot of what your saying here in that it's really frustrating to get stuff you think should be compatible then be told when it's not that the issue was common knowledge. Having the site not work cant help. I hope you persevere with this as you should be pretty close to having it working, with the plus side you know how to avoid the issues if you decide to use a Clark board in future projects.

Its a slightly different situation in the uk where a lot of folks have Clark boards so some one can help with any issues. I'll be fitting Clark boards onto my panther F and jagdpanther mainly because it will cost me about £100 for both, as opposed to Tamiya which would be over £400 for new parts and £300 second hand.
tomhugill is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 09:20 PM
  #439
YHR
 
YHR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Grande Prairie, AB, CANADA
Posts: 8,968
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Clark electronics TK20

Clark let me know that the issue with them accepting hits from the Tamiya Leo has also been resolved.
YHR is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2013, 08:07 PM
  #440
clarkmodel
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Hsinchu County, TAIWAN
Posts: 339
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Clark electronics TK20


A Tamiya Sherman with TK20 in France:

[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vdGofMM7Z8Y[/youtube]

As you can see at the begging of video, the layout is nice and clean, speaker box is made of card board, tamiya's old single motor gear box is upgraded to two motor configuration and works very good. I'm asking for more closer picture becasue I also have a single motor gear box and want to upgrade it.

Regards,
Clark

clarkmodel is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 12:46 AM
  #441
9nene
 
9nene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: , FRANCE
Posts: 64
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Clark electronics TK20

hi
I am the owner of sherman
is old 1974
but the body is new I am delighted TK20E US , lowest price as tamiya or ELMOD
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Qo38769.jpg
Views:	101
Size:	125.9 KB
ID:	1839155   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ge94743.jpg
Views:	21
Size:	125.9 KB
ID:	1839156  
9nene is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 07:27 PM
  #442
Rebellion13
 
Rebellion13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: New Tripoli, PA
Posts: 1,692
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Clark electronics TK20

Clark I hope you don't mind, but I linked one of your youtube videos of your 50 Cal. I love it, I think it would be great to have that option on your TK22 US version board, I would much rather have that then the hull mounted MG. Just sounds so much better. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=22I3_...19jaI9nCLwQ_hg

Cheers,
Wade
Rebellion13 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 09:13 PM
  #443
clarkmodel
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Hsinchu County, TAIWAN
Posts: 339
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Clark electronics TK20

Hi,Wade,

It's not about which sounds better, but just the hull mounted MG on Sherman is .30 cal and it sounds different to .50 Cal, this .50 Cal sound will be availiable on M41 & M1 version

Regards,
Clark

clarkmodel is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 09:51 PM
  #444
Rebellion13
 
Rebellion13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: New Tripoli, PA
Posts: 1,692
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Clark electronics TK20

I guess I will have to get a M41 then lol. I just love the sound of the 50cal. If I had a choice with my Sherman in mind I would leave out the 30cal and use the turret mounted 50cal, but that is just me. Have you ever considered doing custom sound sets? I would be willing to pay a few extra bucks to have the 50 instead of the 30 for the Sherman. I appreciate how much you have done so far. Thanks again.

Cheers,
Wade
Rebellion13 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 05:41 PM
  #445
clarkmodel
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Hsinchu County, TAIWAN
Posts: 339
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Clark electronics TK20

Hi,Wade,

As we have many sound version to be released, we can not do customized board recently. I think you can use standard M4 version first and then go throught free update service to change MG sound in the future, or use M41 sound version.

Regards,
Clark
clarkmodel is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 07:30 PM
  #446
Rebellion13
 
Rebellion13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: New Tripoli, PA
Posts: 1,692
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Clark electronics TK20

Thank you Clark that is good to know. Can't wait to see what else you have planned.

Cheers
Wade
Rebellion13 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 08:11 PM
  #447
clarkmodel
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Hsinchu County, TAIWAN
Posts: 339
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Clark electronics TK20

Hi, Wade,

Pls check "Sound Package information" section on TK20 webpage. Basically, release schedule issynchronizedwith HL tank release schedule.

Regards.
Clark
clarkmodel is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 07:31 PM
  #448
tsull
 
tsull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Scottsale, AZ
Posts: 315
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Clark electronics TK20

Nasty bedtime thought:
I just replaced my IR Emiter on my Clarke Board. Burned out last week.
Q: Does anyone know off hand if the IR has a resistor on the Clarke Board or is it by an inline resistor (which I don't have). It would save me opening up my KT and fiddling with it to get a read out.
Thanks!
tjs
tsull is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 08:20 PM
  #449
FreakyDude
 
FreakyDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: barrie, ON, CANADA
Posts: 1,047
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Clark electronics TK20

Clarke board has a resistor on the board.

Quote:
ORIGINAL: tsull

Nasty bedtime thought:
I just replaced my IR Emiter on my Clarke Board. Burned out last week.
Q: Does anyone know off hand if the IR has a resistor on the Clarke Board or is it by an inline resistor (which I don't have). It would save me opening up my KT and fiddling with it to get a read out.
Thanks!
tjs
FreakyDude is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 08:45 PM
  #450
clarkmodel
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Hsinchu County, TAIWAN
Posts: 339
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Clark electronics TK20

what IR Emiter you used? TK20 board has on-board resistor to calibrate power level as Tamiya's

Regards.
Clark

clarkmodel is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:39 PM.