Community
Search
Notices
RC Tanks Discuss all aspects of rc tank building and driving here!

first rc

Search this Thread

Old 08-31-2012, 01:12 PM
gould965

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default first rc

I am new to the rc world, i have been a modeler for over 10 years now, stricly military . i finally can afford a tamiya 1/16 full rc tank. i am looking at the tiger or the king tiger. to start with, i would like some feed back on if they are good for beginners and if there are any problems with either 2.
Old 08-31-2012, 01:23 PM
harleridr

Default RE: first rc

neither seem to have a lot of room in the hull. Talk to Phil at RC Tank Wars.
harlel
Old 08-31-2012, 01:49 PM
Jeff489
My Feedback: (12)

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

Of the two, IMHO the Tiger is better. Less complex, and more reliable. The most room in the hull of any Tamiya...room enough for 2 batteries.

Try your local hobby shop for a Tamiya Tiger. Phil at RC Tank Wars doesn't deal in Tamiya.
Old 08-31-2012, 01:58 PM
CHIEFSONN

Both tanks are good but you will have more problems with the track on the tiger II jumping off.and if you are planing on adding metal tracks you will need to get the rear Idler adjuster to help keep the tracks on and be sure to buy the newer kits,the transmission units (TU'S) are better.
Old 08-31-2012, 03:00 PM
MAUS45

Received 38 Likes on 35 Posts

Tamiya Tiger I was my first Full option kit. It is an easy build and a good runner. I have the Tamiya Tiger II as well and it has been fun to build as well. Has the same electronics as the Tiger I. The only thing I will upgrade or replace on the Tiger II is the track tensioner. I wish Tamiya had used the same system for the Tiger II that they used on the Tiger I and the Panther. It works so much better. Other then that the Tiger II is a good runner as well. Both have enough room inside,but Tiger I has the most space.
Old 08-31-2012, 04:31 PM
ksoc

Received 1 Like on 1 Post