RC Tanks Discuss all aspects of rc tank building and driving here!

Tamiya servo elevation & SLU

Reply
Old 09-25-2012, 02:02 PM
  #1
Strato50
Thread Starter
 
Strato50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hamilton, ON, CANADA
Posts: 1,399
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Tamiya servo elevation & SLU

I have a club mate who is working on a Leopard 2 with servo elevation, and he's working on the SLU installation for it (no flaming about that one plz :P)

Was wondering if it's ever been done, using the stock turret servo for elevation somehow. The best I could come up with at the time was using a computer radio to set up travel limits and mix it into another channel.

Will this work? Any other options? Your input is appreciated!
Strato50 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2012, 04:06 PM
  #2
tomhugill
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 1,995
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Tamiya servo elevation & SLU

Could always try hacking the servo? Alternatively, spend the extra $100 and get a proper Dmd t-07.
tomhugill is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2012, 04:26 PM
  #3
tomhugill
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 1,995
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Tamiya servo elevation & SLU

Also how is he using the slu with the leopard gearbox? As it is designed to work with the proper Dmd and is afaik not compatable with other electronics.
tomhugill is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2012, 06:39 AM
  #4
Strato50
Thread Starter
 
Strato50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hamilton, ON, CANADA
Posts: 1,399
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Tamiya servo elevation & SLU

Not sure really, and I considered modding the servo but that wouldnt help with the travel limits we'd need for the barrel.
Strato50 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2012, 11:20 AM
  #5
heavyaslead
 
heavyaslead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Loganville, GA
Posts: 1,612
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Tamiya servo elevation & SLU

OK presumming there is no DMD TO7 in the vehicle. The servo could be hacked and just ignore travel limits (let it spin up and down) or go with the traditional elevation with limit tabs. Being a servo it has no clutch gear so it would ruin itself with limit tabs unless you use lockout limit switches... but the elctronics gets more complicated.

About the drive and steering: As tom said above it can not be done easily with the SLU. So I'm supposing independent dual gearboxes are being used instead of the stock differntial transmission, which can be done.
heavyaslead is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2012, 04:28 AM
  #6
Strato50
Thread Starter
 
Strato50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hamilton, ON, CANADA
Posts: 1,399
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Tamiya servo elevation & SLU

Hmmm thats interesting I'll bring it up.

And yea I believe he's installing HL style transmissions but that wasn't really talked about at our last meet!
Strato50 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:43 AM.