Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 17 of 17

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    , ON, CANADA
    Posts
    233
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    Tamiya flash unit

    Does anyone know if anything other than a stock one can be used to replace a damaged unit ?

    How much are the original ones and what is the cost ?

    thanks tankers


  2. #2
    Green Amphibian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    King, NC
    Posts
    1,126
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Tamiya flash unit

    Clear IR units are available that are plug and play for Tamyia units.

    Herman
    The older I get, the better I was.

    LVT 4, USMC M4 105mm, Stug III, DD Sherman & Hetzer building.

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    , UNITED KINGDOM
    Posts
    1,224
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Tamiya flash unit

    The Tamiya flashes will all work with all mfus but remember that the Sherman one is too short for tigers etc. king tiger one will fit all.
    Tamiya:leopard 2a6, king tiger, Porsche king tiger, panther g, jagdpanther. Hooben: elefant, t-55. HL panther f, Jagdpanther

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    , ON, CANADA
    Posts
    233
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Tamiya flash unit

    Best place to get the clear ones ?

    I m referring to the Gun Flash not the IR .

    I think its called Neon bulb ?

    I m trying to find a cheaper solution than Tamiya ones .

  5. #5
    ausf's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    , NY
    Posts
    1,568
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Tamiya flash unit

    First off, check the wires, particularly at the plug before you give up on the existing one. They tend to pull out, Tamiya specifically recommends using needle nose to remove that plug. I had a Tiger flash stop working. I tested the unit in another tank and it worked fine. While searching for answers I found it was a common problem with the MFUs after time. I never got around to sending it in for service and after swapping abunch of stuff around, I looked at it again one day and found the plug wasn't sitting right in the MFU and it's been working ever since.

    Double check, then if possible, try the flash unit in another tank to determine whether it's the problem or the MFU.

    HL makes a flash unit, but they're hard to find in stock and I wouldn't begin to know how to wire it to Tamiya.
    What, me worry?

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    , TX
    Posts
    51
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Tamiya flash unit

    Hopefully, it's just the plug (that's one tough SOB to unplug!) because it's an expensive part I paid about $50 for one recently. The Tank Museum should have 'em, or shop around. From what I've heard, the HL flash unit won't work in a DMD (but I've never tried and wouldn't want to risk damaging the DMD).

  7. #7
    Panther F's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Franklin, IN
    Posts
    7,603
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Tamiya flash unit

    The connector has a built in lock you must press to unplug.

    Other than that, they unplug real easily.



    ~ Jeff
    Building the British Sherman Mk.III ~ Mid Production Sicily

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Florence, NJ
    Posts
    5,033
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Tamiya flash unit

    HL flashers will not work in Tamiya DMD's Need an original Tamiya flash unit.
    Tamiya Panther G, HL/Tamiya TigerI, WSN/HL T-34/85, WSN/Tamiya T-34/85, WSN/HL DBCRC2 T-34/85, HL/Tamiya Pershing, Mato/Tamiya Sherman,HL KV-1, HL Pz III, HL/Custom scratch JP, HE/Tamiya Abrams, HE/Tamiya LEO 2A5, Vs Abrams M1A1, Vs T-72, HL Bergepanthe

  9. #9
    Green Amphibian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    King, NC
    Posts
    1,126
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Tamiya flash unit

    You can get clear IR emitters from armorcreations

    You can also get the clear or colored flash LEDs from them.

    Herman
    The older I get, the better I was.

    LVT 4, USMC M4 105mm, Stug III, DD Sherman & Hetzer building.

  10. #10

    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Grandville, MI
    Posts
    149
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Tamiya flash unit

    Hello, Can you please explain to me how and where I can install a muzzle flash unit on my new ,first ever 1/16 HL Tiger 1? If you can give some info on upgrading the engine sound and add turret sound would be great. You gave me some feedback I my post regarding my Tiger 1, you seem to know your stuff. Thanks

  11. #11
    Green Amphibian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    King, NC
    Posts
    1,126
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Tamiya flash unit

    There are a lot of guys on here much more knowledgeable and talented than I am, but I will try to help. Muzzle flash can be put into the barrel of most tanks by inserting it, with the wires attached, from the breech end to the point that it sticks out into the muzzle brake just enough to be seen. Some have an orange plastic part the sticks out and lights up with the flash. Then just run your wires to your controller in the tank. Alot of newer boards have sound already on them, but if you are going to be battleing you probably need to make your HL up to the Tamyia standard for IR battle. HL does not meet that standard, but is fine for back yard fun with other HL tanks. You can go with the DBCRC3, El Mod, Clark, etc. for compatible upgrade units. YHR has Bendini sound cards that are outstanding for sound and voices. Contact him for more info. on them. Battle Armor RC - Home Page  Hope this helps some.

    Herman
    The older I get, the better I was.

    LVT 4, USMC M4 105mm, Stug III, DD Sherman & Hetzer building.

  12. #12
    Panther F's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Franklin, IN
    Posts
    7,603
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Tamiya flash unit

    Which ever way you go just make sure it's INSIDE the muzzle brake and not sticking out of it.

    That way looks stupid as hell, like a tongue hanging out.



    ~ Jeff
    Building the British Sherman Mk.III ~ Mid Production Sicily

  13. #13
    Green Amphibian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    King, NC
    Posts
    1,126
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Tamiya flash unit

    Amen to that!

    Herman
    The older I get, the better I was.

    LVT 4, USMC M4 105mm, Stug III, DD Sherman & Hetzer building.

  14. #14

    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Grandville, MI
    Posts
    149
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Tamiya flash unit

    I don't plan on battling but want it to sound real and true to life....I like detail. There is so much to learn...all that RC "lingo". Letters and numbers of upgrade parts. I am confused!!!! But Thanks for the help!!!! I would like to upgrade but if it cost the same as a Tamiya than it's not worth it. Thanks!!!!!!

  15. #15
    Green Amphibian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    King, NC
    Posts
    1,126
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Tamiya flash unit

    Upgrades are just that. You can do as many or as few as you want. HL tanks can be brought up to battle ready status for under $300 as a guesstimate. You don't need to have metal tracks and all the fancy do da's unless you want them. Keep reading the posts and ask questions of things your not sure of. Plenty of experienced guys on here to help you get your tank to where you want it.

    Herman
    The older I get, the better I was.

    LVT 4, USMC M4 105mm, Stug III, DD Sherman & Hetzer building.

  16. #16

    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Grandville, MI
    Posts
    149
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Tamiya flash unit


    ORIGINAL: T Skaz

    I don't plan on battling but want it to sound real and true to life....I like detail. There is so much to learn...all that RC "lingo". Letters and numbers of upgrade parts. I am confused!!!! But Thanks for the help!!!! I would like to upgrade but if it cost the same as a Tamiya than it's not worth it. Thanks!!!!!!
    The older I get the more I forget!

  17. #17

    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Grandville, MI
    Posts
    149
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Tamiya flash unit


    [quote]ORIGINAL: T Skaz


    [quote]ORIGINAL: T Skaz



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:46 AM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.